jump to navigation

July 19, 2008 July 19, 2008

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Bluefish Sink Patriots: Travis Ezi went 6-for-6 with six singles. Jesse Hoorelbeke drove in seven runs. Henry Mateo came up in the ninth inning needing a double for the cycle, but could only come up with a measly single.

Somerset pitching allowed a season-high 21 hits in a 13-4 drubbing at the hands of Bridgeport last night.

Ezi’s six hit game may be a first in the Atlantic League, I’m not sure. I know the Patriots all-time record for hits in a game is five, and the official final stat sheets only list five-hit games. If anyone knows of a six-hit game in the Atlantic League, feel free to post it in the comments…

UPDATED – As a very alert reader pointed out, not only is it not the first 6-for-6 game in AL history, it’s not even the first this year. York’s Kennard Jones pulled it off on June 30th.

So was it the first in Bluefish history? Anyone know of any other six-hit or 6-for-6 games? It was the first one I’ve ever seen — and I’ve seen over 525 pro games — so no matter what, I’m still happy I was there to see it. But I’m hoping to ask Ezi about it tomorrow, and I want to be able to see if there was any historical significance to it.

I was able to come up with one other six-hit game…Long Island’s Francisco Morales did it in Lehigh Valley on August 26, 2000. I’d imagine about eight people were there to see it, though.

Ezi Talks: Here in Somerset, I was able to catch up Travis Ezi after he got done with some extra hitting in the cage. Hard to believe that a guy who just got done going 6-for-6 would need to spend some extra time in the cage, but there he was, getting some cuts off of Glenn Murray.

For Ezi, the idea of a 6-for-6 game was kind of like seeing Big Foot. He’d heard of it before, he’d just never seen it.

“I just had one of those games that nobody’s ever heard of, I never heard of anybody going 6-for-6,” Ezi said.

“I was just very relaxed and I got some good pitches, put them in play. (Balls) were just falling, I guess. I work hard every day and that day, everything fell right.”

Ezi’s six-hit game was only the second in the history of Bluefish, as Bobby Malek accomplished the feat last year against the York Revolution.

“Hopefully I can continue getting more hits like that,” he said.

“But we got a win out of it, that’s the most important thing. If we’d have lost, I wouldn’t be so happy.”

UPDATED – Did some more research, and saw that Jerson Perez had a six-hit game against Nashua in 2004. – MA

Comments»

1. Adam - July 19, 2008

York’s Kennard Jones (Ezi’s replacement) actually had a 6 for 6game, with two doubles and a triple, on June 30th.

2. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - July 19, 2008

Wow, that’s a great story actually…Ezi and his replacement swap 6-for-6 games.

I’ll have to look and see if Jeff Johnson or Jim Seip were able to find anything out about previous 6 hit games in their coverage of Jones’ game.

What’s interesting is that it also goes volumes in proving Jeff’s point that a league record book of some sort is sorely needed.

3. Anonymous - July 19, 2008

Bears had a great crowd last night!

4. Anonymous - July 19, 2008

Bobby Malek had a 6-hit game last year for the Bluefish against York.

5. Anonymous - July 19, 2008

On the Bears crowd,

Awesome atmosphere at the Den last night! Even though they lost the fans were really into it and I hope it marks a turnaround for the team!


Leave a Reply

