jump to navigation

May 19, 2008 May 19, 2008

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Lancaster Radio Spot At 6:50: I’ll be on the radio with Barnstormers play-by-play man Dave Collins at 6:50, so if you want to hear me babble like an idiot for ten minutes or so, by all means be my guest. The link is here

One Man’s Trash Is Another Man’s Treasure: Saw this on the roster at the ballpark today, and I see that Jason Guarente has reported this as well on Barnstormin’, but Lancaster has signed former Somerset P D.J. Mattox.

Nothing against Mattox, but when people complain about the league being stale, and players getting recycled, this is a perfect example of what they’re talking about.

This is basically a copy of the Jim Magrane story. Guy starts out season in league with another team, doesn’t pitch that well overall, makes his last start before getting canned against the team that eventually signs him.

Mattox pitched four innings in Lancaster on Thursday and allowed three runs on four walks and five hits.

I keep hearing about the guys who are available to teams, so it makes me wonder why the so-called “recycling” process is continuing. – Mike Ashmore

Fish Empty Tank: Rich Elliott of The Connecticut Post is reporting that the Bridgeport Bluefish have released pitcher Matt Ford. The left-hander was 1-0 with a 10.80 ERA in four appearances this season.

The team has also signed everyone’s favorite Ramos, Eddy Ramos. He’ll be plugged into the closer role. Franklin Perez, who hasn’t pitched this season because of visa problems, is expected to join the Fish this week and set-up Ramos.

DiFelice photo courtesy of ALB commenter BoosterBabe

DeFelice Makes Big League Debut: Former Atlantic Leaguer Mark DeFelice made his major league debut on Sunday against the Boston Red Sox. He came in in the fifth inning, replacing starter Carlos Villanueva.

In his one inning, DeFelice gave up three earned runs (coming on David Ortiz’ second homer of the afternoon) off five hits. He didn’t walk anyone and struck out one.

As for a positive: 23 of his 30 pitches were thrown for strikes. – Scott Stanchak

Veres Inactive: The York Revolution have placed P Dave Veres on the inactive list. Jeff Johnson reports that Veres is dealing with a strained groin.

Apparently, the disabled list just wasn’t good enough…

Barrows Signs With Surf: Former Road Warriors INF/P Derek Barrows has signed with the Atlantic City Surf of the Can-Am League. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. BoosterBabe - May 19, 2008

Re Mark DeFelice

I was at Fenway Sunday for my birthday and I ran down before the game to the visitor’s dugout and hoped to see Mark and say hello. Well, he was signing autographs left right and sideways having a blast!!! I called out to him–when he looked at me I said “I’m from Bridgeport! I remember when you played for Camden!!!” He gave me a BIG smile. I told him I was so proud of him and happy I could be there that day, hoping I’d get to watch his MLB debut. He thanked me and seemed genuinely touched.

I spotted him throwing in the bullpen during the 4th–got all excited! He did good job when he came in. Die Hard Red Sox fan that I am, I was cheering for him. I snapped a bunch of photos, too.

Mike–you’re welcome to post them.
I’ll email you the link to my shutterfly account and you can download the ones you like.

It was a BLAST! The only way the day could have been more perfect is if Manny had gotten a couple HRs…..he’s been stuck at 498 for WEEKS!

2. barnstormer1 - May 19, 2008

Agree with the recycyling and stale comment Mike…
Also what “officially” is the difference between dl and inactive list?

3. barnstormer1 - May 19, 2008

I am assuming that dl is paid and inactive is not?

4. Mike - May 19, 2008

I have an idea, but I really, really shouldn’t say why I think it’s the case because I know I’ll get a phone call if I do.

Let me see what I can figure out…

5. mnlem - May 20, 2008

Nice Patriots win tonight and another Prinz save (9 for 9). However, the Patriots just don’t seem to have enough offense, when the Barnstormers came back to tie 2-2, I strated wondering if the Patriots would score again.

6. Anonymous - May 20, 2008

Pete Maestrales and pitcher Mike Meyers have been added to the Ducks roster and Mike Rose and Dominick Ambrosini are no longer listed.

7. Anonymous - May 20, 2008

The Patriots definitely need more offense. I miss watching the homeruns by Ryan Radmanovich and Jeff Nettles.


Leave a Reply

