jump to navigation

April 22, 2008 – Corey Thurman Talks April 21, 2008

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Breaking — Patriots Cut Four: See below…

It’s Game Time For York Pitcher, Thurman: Pop a copy of MLB 2K3 into your XBox and you’ll come across all the familiar names: Roger Clemens, Derek Jeter, Alex Rodriguez — and, Corey Thurman.

“My younger brother called me and was going crazy. He was telling me how he was using me in the game,” Thurman said excitedly. “That was one of the coolest things ever.”

Unfortunately, Thurman couldn’t be used that much. The game makers made him a reliever, meaning five innings was about as far as he could go before the fatigue meter turned red.

“I looked exactly the same in the game. From my face to my mechanics, it was one of the greatest things,” The York Revolution reliever said.

Thurman appeared in the game as a member of the Toronto Blue Jays, the team he spent two seasons in the big leagues with. But, Thurman wasn’t always a Blue Jay.

The right-hander was a fourth-round pick of the Kansas City Royals in 1996, working his way up to Triple-A five years later. Toronto saw big-league potential in the 6’1″ Texas native and selected him in the Rule 5 major league draft. As a Rule 5 pick, Thurman had to remain on Toronto’s major league roster for all of 2002 or be offered back to the Royals.Thurman never was offered back.

“It was almost like job security when I knew they weren’t going to send me back to Kansas City,” Thurman said. “I didn’t know how much they were going to use me that season, but it ended up being free and easy.”

That season, Thurman went 2-3 with a 4.37 ERA in 43 games. It was the best on-the-job training a young pitcher could ever receive.

He credits Shannon Stewart for showing him what life was like off the field; Kelvim Escobar and Dan Plesac for showing him the ropes at the park; and, Roy Halladay for pitching the way he did so Thurman could watch a CY-Young season.

Don’t think they didn’t try to make the rookie look like a fool though.

“On the bus there was a microphone and they wanted me to sing some music. Chris Carpenter suggested some Tim McGraw. What they didn’t know was I was from Texas and grew up with my dad listening to country music, mainly Randy Travis.”

Score that round to Thurman.

In 2003, the 29-year-old split the season with Toronto and Triple-A Syracuse. He hasn’t been back to the majors since. After some more time in the minors, rotator cuff surgery (he says he’s fully recovered) and a stint in the independent Frontier League, Thurman chose the Atlantic League to continue his career.

Friends of his, including former York outfielder Tike Redman, had success in the league and he knew this was the best place to get back.

“This is the premier independent league,” he said. “This is where you have to be if you want to get picked up.”

Thurman has mowed down the likes of Derek Jeter, Manny Ramirez and David Ortiz, but insists there’s nothing different to striking out a superstar and someone who hasn’t made it.

“Those guys put on pants just like we do. The odds are in the pitchers favor that the hitter will get out 7 of 10 times so why not have me be the one to get them out.”

Thurman has high hopes those same odds will work in his favor and he’ll be back in the big leagues in no time. – Scott Stanchak

Two Pitchers, Two Position Players Let Go: The Somerset Patriots have released P David Humen, P Joe Welsh, INF Pete Moore and C Michael Muscato.

“I don’t think it was a matter of being able to compete at this level, I think it was more or less a numbers game,” Muscato said.

“When you have as little experience as I do, you’re the number that goes home.”

Muscato made his pro debut in the South Coast League last season, and drove with his father from Arizona just for the opportunity to try to make the Somerset Patriots.

“I think I’m one of those guys that’s borderline ready to be at this level as opposed to a solid Triple-A caliber player. But I’m a lot younger than all of these guys, so I’ll take (my performance) as a positive, and see what I can do from here.”

I think Muscato would be a good option for a team with question marks at the backup catcher spot. He’s shown he can hit over the course of a full season at the pro level, and he seemed to outhustle everyone in camp. He is still in the area and is available to other teams interested.

Welsh also pitched fairly well, and would be a good lefty option out of the pen for a team. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - April 22, 2008

A few things from yesterday’s comments:

1. Thank you for the compliments. Mike and I have tried to do our best this off-season in terms of getting interviews for you. I believe we did over thirty! Mike is to thank for all the great S.T. coverage.

2. I don’t understand why people use the anonymous posting. The one option is to just write your name, you don’t even have to sign in. I changed it from registered users because people were having problems registering. Please, don’t ruin this for everyone. More people do post when this option is available, but at least write a name or something. We don’t know who you are and are not interested in finding out.

3. I should be talking to Walter Young in a few days. He works elsewhere during the week, so it’s hard to get in touch with him. I’ll keep you updated.

2. BoosterBabe - April 22, 2008

Is nothing sacred from Spam?

3. Anonymous - April 22, 2008

What is the name of the guy that signs and makes all the trades for the Somerset Patriots

4. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - April 22, 2008

Brett Jodie is the Somerset Patriots director of player procurement.

5. Anonymous - April 22, 2008

The Ducks signed lefty reliever Tom Martin today. He has previously pitched for Houston, Cleveland, NY Mets, Tampa Bay, L.A. Dodgers, Atlanta and Colorado.

6. Anonymous - April 22, 2008

Any word on Jesse Hoorelebeke? Hope he signs with Bridgeport again….

–melwearingsghost

7. BoosterBabe - April 23, 2008

I haven’t heard anything about Hoorelbeke from my end, either. I hope he comes back too.

8. barnstormer1 - April 23, 2008

Lancaster has a new sheriff in town….and his name is Von Hayes. Lancaster released Dominick Ambrosini..I guess his perceived lack of defense and hustle that we noticed all season last year has been duly noted by Hayes. (And yes I do know he was hitting up a storm last year.)

9. Anonymous - April 23, 2008

That is absolutly rediculous that Dominick got released. That guy is a great player on a crappy team. He has done nothing but hit for the last few years… I guess thats worth nothing..I dont understand this league sometimes. -Joe Jiannetti


Leave a Reply

