jump to navigation

April 2, 2008 – Jason Aspito/Scott Patterson Talk April 2, 2008

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Patriots Sign Two: The Somerset Patriots today inked right-handed pitcher Bo Donaldson and left-handed pitcher Joe Welsh. Donaldson has former A.L. ties with the Camden Riversharks, having pitched for them during the 2006 season. He’s also played with the, here we go, New York Yankees, Boston Red Sox, Montreal Expos, Pittsburgh Pirates, San Diego Padres and Anaheim Angels organizations. He’ll most likely be coming out of the pen for Somerset.

As for Welsh, he has just two-seasons experience with the Washington Nationals organization.


Transactions:
Thanks to a loyal ALB reader, here are a few transactions involving former A.L. players. The following players were released: Chris Fussell (Dodgers) Ramon Nivar (Padres), Sheldon Fuse (Washington). Also, Flemington Baez was signed by the Marineres.


Aspito Appreciates Opportunities
:
Good ballplayers should get all the chances in the world to play in the majors.

But, the game is a business and being a 9th-round draft pick (262 overall) means those selected before you will get more of those chances.

That’s the harsh reality of playing for a major league affiliate, but for an independent league team?

“I was playing for the Edmonton Cracker-Cats and got released when they signed a former first-round pick,” York Revolution outfielder Jason Aspito said. “I guess they thought it was good publicity.”

Aspito wasn’t out of a job for long. Within an hour he inked a deal to play for the Atlantic League’s newest franchise.

“I’ve played with guys who’ve played in the Atlantic League and I think the name speaks for itself. It was a great opportunity for me,” Aspito said.

The 29-year-old spent seven years with the Chicago White Sox and Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim organizations. In 2006, he spent part of the year in Triple-A, but found himself out of a job when the season was done.

“It’s never easy to get released. Guys tell me that your career doesn’t begin until your released for the first time.”

Two releases later, he was in York, working hard to capitalize on this latest opportunity. In 54 games, Aspito batted .307 with 11 home runs and 32 RBI. It was enough to receive a call from manager Chris Hoiles this off-season.

“Chris called me this off-season, trying to get me to come back,” Aspito said. “He’s a very good manager and I was happy to come play for him again.”

Aspito is one of four outfielders the Revolution have under contract so far. He’s the first one, however, spending every day at the ballpark.

Aspito and infielder Matt Dryer are in York giving hitting lessons. It’s a strong publicity move by the team, but an even better opportunity for fans to get an up-close encounter with two guys they’ll be cheering on this season.

As for how he feels a year after being released for a former bonus baby.

“I definitely think I got the better end of the deal.”

(If you’re interested in getting hitting lessons from Aspito or Revolution infielder Matt Dryer, contact the team’s front office at (717) 801-4487.) – Scott Stanchak

Patterson Looks Good For Scranton: I was fortunate enough to catch up with former Lancaster P Scott Patterson in Trenton last night. Patterson was in town with the Triple-A Scranton Yankees for their exhibition game against the Thunder.

Here’s what he had to tell me…

Exhibition game

“This is great. I wasn’t sure if we were going to be able to get it in, but I’m glad we can. This feels like home.”

Not making the Yankees

“I was (disappointed), to be honest with you. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t. I really didn’t sleep for anything more than an hour that night. It wasn’t performance, but it was like what did they want, what did they want me to do. It was nothing with performance. But I’ve got to move on. But I told them, the final words I said were: wherever you guys put me, I’m going to get guys out. It’s just a matter of getting the guys out, and getting up there.”

When he’s going up

“They said I’d be the first call-up, but other than that, we’ll see. If it’s something starter wise, I wouldn’t go up. My guess is if a lefty goes down, or they need another lefty, that’s the only case that I wouldn’t go first.”

“(Getting the call) could happen any day. The first thing that happens, I could be up there. I wanted to be there, it was a good taste. It makes you work harder, because it was such a good taste of being up there. It’s so close to what you want to accomplish.”

Having big names in the clubhouse

“Playing in Venezuela, you get used to (playing with star players). I was more star-struck in Venezuela with all those big league guys, but you get used to it. And once I got to spring training, that helped out, because I wasn’t star struck and I could focus on just knowing what I want and trying to make the team and not worrying about those guys. It was great being with them, but I just stuck to my routine down there and it worked out well.”

Reflecting on where he’s come from

“I talked to a couple of the Lancaster guys that came down and saw me, and I thought about it, and just two years ago I was in Lancaster, in ‘06. That first month, I was there. The no-hitter, that was the day that I signed. There’s only one more step to go.”

Patterson did what Patterson does last night, and that’s get guys out. He had a 1-2-3 inning, inducing two pop-ups and striking out one.

For a downloadable audio clip of our chat, go here. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. Jeff Johnson - April 2, 2008

That’s great stuff on Patterson.

As for the hitting lessons, I don’t know how great of a publicity move it is. Some people in York are actually kind of puzzled that they’re charging $45 per half hour.

Not to say it’s right or wrong. But it’s not like they’re donating their time for free.

2. Anonymous - April 2, 2008

jeff what are you talking about that. that is dirt cheap for a half hour lesson, rember they don’t make a lot of money in the atlantic league they have to eat don’t they

3. RevsFan - April 2, 2008

I don’t think Jeff is complaining about the price. It’s just that a lot of people in York still resent the fact that the stadium was built because they think that the money could’ve been used to improve the city in other ways. Therefore, they will find any reason to criticize the team/players/stadium, etc…

Now obviously not all of us Yorkers feel that way because I for one think that bringing baseball back to York was a great decision and I know many others that feel the same way.

4. Dave - April 2, 2008

Bo Donaldson 33 year old LP has popped up on the Patriots roster. I think he was a reliever for Camden a couple of years ago?

5. Dave - April 2, 2008

Also Joe Welsh another lefty.


Leave a Reply

