jump to navigation

March 14, 2008 – Aric Leclair Talks March 13, 2008

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Catching Up With Aric Leclair: Aric Leclair’s never done this before.

Pitch in the Atlantic League?

No, he’s done that, going 5-6 in 44 appearances between the Camden Riversharks and Road Warriors last year.

He’s just never had to re-sign with a team before. So he didn’t know what to do.

“I’ve never had to do this before, so I didn’t know whether I’d have to call David Keller and see if I’d have to look for a new team next year,” Leclair said.

“But it turns out he beat me to the punch, and I’m happy to be back with Camden this year.”

Leclair had an interesting season last year, and that doesn’t even begin to go into the press he got from portraying Patriots manager Sparky Lyle in last year’s ESPN mini-series, “The Bronx Is Burning.”

On the field, it looked like Leclair would last about week with Camden and never be heard from again, shipped off to the Road Warriors after just three appearances with the Riversharks.

Leclair struggled at times on the road, going 0-2 with a 7.43 ERA in 10 appearances in gray.

But Camden needed a reliever around mid-June, and things started to turn around for the former Diamondbacks farmhand.

“It was a real boost of confidence when I got back to Camden,” Leclair said.

Leclair attributed his rough start to a weird scenario in which he expected to be back with Nashua in 2007, but was instead dealt to Camden. Considering the Can-Am League season gets going about a month after the Atlantic League season, he thought he’d have more time tha he ultimately did, and didn’t feel prepared when the season got underway.

“I hadn’t even thrown to hitters when spring training started,” Leclair said.

“At the end of the ’06 season, I was coming off of surgery, and that was still a factor. I was in good shape, and I felt good, I just didn’t feel like my arm was ready to go.”

When he came back to the Riversharks, Leclair was revitalized and slowly worked his ERA down about four runs from where he first started.

“I probably threw my changeup more in the second half than I have in my whole career,” he said.

“I’m hoping I can change speeds more in certain counts this year, but I just hope I can pick up where I left off last year, and just come in and get guys out.”

Well, he probably doesn’t want to pick up exactly where he left off.

With Camden a few outs away from being eliminated in the postseason by the Patriots last year, Leclair came in and drilled the first batter he saw. It led to a somewhat ugly series of events, and some people around the league were surprised that Leclair was returning this year.

Just not Leclair.

“I’m not worried about my reputation,” he said.

“It wasn’t on purpose. But if I was on their team, I would have thought their guy did it on purpose too.”

Looks like Leclair will have a whole season to prove himself right. – Mike Ashmore

Davis Done: A few days after I wrote that former Camden Riversharks catcher Ben Davis has no chance of making the Baltimore Orioles roster, I was proved right. The Orioles sent the former top draft pick to their minor league camp Thursday.

York’s New Hitting Coach: Jim Seip is reporting the York Revolution will name their new hitting coach as early as today. I’m hearing Mike Bordick was considered, but am now hearing a lot of no comments. Currently, the former Orioles shortstop is the head baseball coach at Boys’ Latin High School in Baltimore. – Scott Stanchak

Comments»

1. Anonymous - March 15, 2008

Any talk on either Jason Ramano or Teuris Olivares returning to Somerset?

2. IslanderFan77 - March 15, 2008

Anything on Brandon Larson coming back?

3. Scott Stanchak - March 15, 2008

I haven’t heard anything regarding those names. I wouldn’t be surprised though to see at least one of them return.


Leave a Reply

