jump to navigation

January 17, 2008 January 17, 2008

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Blue Crabs Ink Two: The Washington Post is reporting that Southern Maryland is expecting to sign former Road Warriors Stephen Doetsch and Ian Bladergroen. The elusive Butch Hobson is quoted in there, so if you really want to see Hobson quotes…might as well just head over there. – MA

Juan Not Really Gone: I’m hearing that Juan Gonzalez might land with a big league team this off-season. The two-time MVP and former Long Island Ducks outfielder has been drawing interest from the St. Louis Cardinals, who might extend him an invitation to Spring Training.

Posting Comments: I’ve been very pleased to see that so many people continued to post comments after I made it for registered users only. The reason I did that was because the time we spent policing the section was getting out of hand.

I’ve gotten complaints over the past several months about it being hard to login. That’s a Blogger issue, not ours, and I understand. That’s why today I’ve decided that I’m opening up the comment posting to anyone, not just registered users. I’ll do this for the time being and then decide, once the season starts, if it is something we should continue with.

I do suggest using a nickname or to continue to login if you can. We want people to have identities and this will help.

For the time being, please don’t abuse the comments section. Be respectful. We can track the postings and will not tolerate anything less than appropriate conversations. The more time we spend having to watch over the comments sections, the less time we have to bring you the news. Thanks! – Scott Stanchak

Comments»

1. AL stat fan - January 17, 2008

Scott – I noticed that your ALB.com front page has not been updated since 2005. Any chance of it being updated, especially the Atlantic League records section?

2. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - January 17, 2008

As of right now, I think we’ve abandoned doing any work on the old site. It was a lot of work to keep up and with all of the other ventures Mike and myself are on now, it would be nearly impossible. We’ve shifted our main focus to providing the best and quickest news on the league out there, and I think we’ve accomplished that. We’ll keep working hard and any other suggestions, feel free to throw them our way.

3. www.BrickCityBruins.com - January 17, 2008

I have found that using a Google login works every time when posting comments. Just try not to forget your password.

4. southernalfan - January 17, 2008

This is a great change and I thank you.

5. gorphils - January 17, 2008

Glad to be able to blog here again…thanks Mike!

6. barnstormersfan - January 17, 2008

oops that”s barnstormersfan… mOr those of you that know me as amy

7. Kevin - January 18, 2008

Hey guys, first time poster here.

I’ve been wondering if the Blue Crabs would sign any Road Warriors, it’s good to see they signed two of the better guys off that team.

And Mike & Scott I’ve been addicted to this site since the Blue Crabs were announced, keep up the good work!

8. Roadwarriorfan - January 18, 2008

Wow, I thought I would automatically become a Lancaster fan since the Warriors were leaving, apparently it won’t be that easy. Both Doetsch and Bladergroen were big parts in the middle of the Road Warriors line up last season. Both can hit for power as well as a decent average.

9. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - January 18, 2008

Kevin, thanks for the compliment. It’s very possible that the Blue Crabs could sign a former Road Warrior. Right now, their rights are up for grabs.

10. Roadwarriorfan - January 18, 2008

By the way Mike and Scott, I like the new-look site, I like the colors and the pole is a great addition as wel.

11. Anonymous - January 18, 2008

Hey Mike any news on were ray navarette will be playing this season. I don’t expect him to return to the Long Island Ducks. He was an all star.
.308
18 Home runs
67 Rbi
144 Hits (4th in the league)
42 Doubles (Led the League)
62 Extra Base Hits (Lead the League)
104 Runs Scored (Led the League)

12. BoosterBabe - January 18, 2008

Hey Amy!
Welcome back!!!!
(waving)

13. Mike - January 18, 2008

I haven’t heard anything about Navs getting a spot in affiliated ball…which is a little baffling to me.

If that is the case, the Ducks would certainly welcome him back. Not sure what else he really has to prove in the AL.

And Kevin, welcome to the site. I suspect you might see another Road Warrior or two join the Blue Crabs before the season opener.


Leave a Reply

