jump to navigation

October 22, 2007 October 22, 2007

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Keller Named Head of Baseball Ops For Camden: More on this later…

CAMDEN, NJ-The Camden Riversharks have named David Keller as Head of Baseball Operations, Riversharks general manager Adam Lorber announced today. Keller and manager Joe Ferguson will work together to assemble the 2008 roster and scout and procure talent for the club.

Keller is a former scout with the Philadelphia Phillies, where he worked with assistant general manager Ruben Amaro, Jr. As a baseball operations assistant last season, Keller played a large role in assembling the 2007 Riversharks, who won the Atlantic League first-half title with a league-best 39-24 record.

“I feel very privileged to work with Joe, who I consider to be the one of the best managers in minor league baseball,” Keller said. “I believe we are in a great position to bring Camden it’s first-ever Atlantic League championship.”

UPDATED: This move was hardly unexpected, and perhaps Keller did have the job regardless of the interview process after all. He’s a bright guy, and earned a lot of respect around the league for the way he went about things this season. He worked under Adam Gladstone with BASA, and certainly was able to learn a lot about how the Atlantic League works as a result.

I’ve reached out to Keller, and I expect to have some comments from him here at some point this week.

Bridgeport and Southern Maryland have yet to reveal how they’ll be acquiring their players.

Patriots Signed Ball: Check out the last post for info on how to win a 2007 Somerset Patriots team-signed baseball. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. BoosterBabe - October 23, 2007

So how about them Red Sox??? 🙂
World Series, Baby!!!! (at least one of my teams didn’t break my heart yet this season)

From the where are they now file, Winter Ball 2007 edition:

Mike Porzio and Gary Burnham are playing for the Estrellas Orientales of the Dominican League.
Jesse Hoorelbeke is playing for Los Caneros de Los Mochis in the Mexican Pacific Coast League.

Jay Caligiuri and Ray Navarette are playing for Villahermosa in the other Mexican League (I don’t speak Spanish, but near as I can tell, Jesse’s team is equivalent to a Major League Team and Jay and Ray’s league is considered the minors.) Bobby Malek is playing in the same league as Cali and Navarette, per a reliable source close to one of the players, but again, no habla espanol, so I have been unable to figure out which team he’s on. He is playing in Mexico…that’s all I could confirm. I should have listened to my dad back in 1975, when I was deciding if I wanted to learn French or Spanish in 7th grade! I picked French. And my first MLB game at Shea Stadium was a doubleheader vs the Expos. So I thought I was doing it right! Oh well.


Leave a Reply

