jump to navigation

October 17, 2007 October 17, 2007

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Patriots Team-Signed Baseball Contest: For the fifth consecutive season, AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com is proud to give away two team-signed baseballs from the Somerset Patriots.

Sparky Lyle, Brian Adams and all of your other favorites are on there, and we’ve got two baseballs you can win. There’s roughly 20 signatures on each baseball.

For your chance to win, e-mail me at mashmore98@gmail.com with a subject that has something to do with the contest, and you’re entered. The deadline to submit your entry is December 31st.

This is our most popular contest that we do all season long, so make sure you put your name in the hat.

In the meantime, please continue to support the site and the time and travel it takes to make it what it is.

Borowski One Game Away From World Series: Cleveland Indians P Joe Borowski, who pitched for the Newark Bears during the 2000 season, is one game away from pitching in the World Series. But, he’s been in that position before.

Check out these thoughts from Borowski on the infamous Steve Bartman play, from an interview I did with him in 2005.

“All I know is that it was the 8th inning, with a man on, up by three. I don’t know, after that happened, within a span of nine pitches the game was tied and they had the bases loaded with no outs. It was like you blinked your eye and before you knew it, the game had gotten away. It’s unfortunate, I mean who knows what would have happened if the ball wasn’t touched and Mo (Moises Alou) had caught the ball. It might have been a different outcome, but you still have to get the job done. I mean, it’s a foul ball, so what. It’s a strike on the hitter and you go after them. I think being that the Cubs hadn’t won in so long, it was just looked at as what else can go wrong and this is to blame for it…it’s not to blame, you still have to get the job done. It’s not like they scored runs on it. It was a strike, and there was still only one guy on and we were still up by three.”

“You’re one game away from going to the World Series, and it just seems like everything unraveled. It was definitely frustrating.”

Borowski, who does own a World Series ring from his time with the 1998 Yankees, wasn’t exactly waxing rhapsodic about his time in the Atlantic League, either…

“(It was) awful. I’d never do it again. It was like playing American Legion (ball), it was no fun. I mean I’m glad I did it because it kept me around, but if I had to do it again, I wouldn’t. It just didn’t do it for me. I started to not enjoy the game anymore, so I wouldn’t do it again.”

Comments»

1. Sharks52 - October 17, 2007

I’ve been meaning to ask this. Any chance the Riversharks will dump BASA in 2008. Please tell me there’s a chance. Also, what are the odds Matt Beech returns to the Riversharks. I’d bet money that game he pitched in Somerset will be the only one he ever pitches for them.

2. Z - October 17, 2007

I love Joe Borowski’s comment’s…He’s not that good to make those comments…Case closed…Maybe we’ll se him in Cooperstown sometime soon???

3. snynault - October 18, 2007

I looked up his stats that year — he had a 5.50 ERA for the bears…you’d think Mr. big leagues could do a little better than that in “american legion” ball. Also, bashing them is a nice way to thank the league for helping get you another shot. Stay classy Joe!

4. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - October 18, 2007

What basically will happen with Camden is what’s happened with Lancaster and York.

The team will use an individual head of player procurement — which has been rumored to be BASA’s David Keller — although I’ve been told he’s one of several on a list of people under consideration.

When that announcement is made remains to be seen.

BASA may exist in the background in terms of assisting with things like insurance and workman’s comp, but I don’t think they’ll exist as a player procurement group any longer.

5. john from long island - October 19, 2007

jose offerman was due in court 10/17/07. anyone find any news?

6. rosco - October 21, 2007

I hear the Sharks interviewed 6 potential player personel guys and Keller was one of them. An annoncement will be made next week I think – Adam the GM said that this position was to be in house and BASA is out. I also heard that Fergy is staying put. I heard that the Blue Crabs wanted him but he wanted to stay. While I was in the office I heard that lots of things are being done regarding the food. I think it was better this year but the plans i overheard should be welcomed. Beech is not comng back. That is why the trade was made. Tommy John wanted a keeper for 2008 and got Dickens – Beech was out.


Leave a Reply

