jump to navigation

September 6, 2007 September 6, 2007

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Hall Would Return To Somerset: I’m in Trenton covering the Eastern League playoffs, and I spoke to OF Noah Hall about the possibility of a return to Somerset. He certainly didn’t rule it out, but if the team doesn’t have room for Ryan Radmanovich, it seems unlikely you’ll see Noah come back.

But here’s what he said…

“I don’t know what the rule is about that, honestly I wouldn’t mind going back there and helping them maybe win there too. But I think since I’m still under contract, I can’t do that. If it was legally OK to do, I might do something like that, because wherever I’m at, I just want to win. I know I was only there one day (laughs). But I’m pretty sure I’m not allowed to.”

Hall did say that he would return next season if he didn’t get any offers this off-season.

Despite sitting on the bench during the middle of the season, Hall was in the starting lineup last night and is again tonight. He had a key run-scoring single in last night’s 3-1 win over Portland, continuing the production he’s shown the entire season in Trenton.

Leek Returns To Ducks: According to a source, Ducks P Randy Leek has returned to the team after briefly going to affiliated ball.

The Bears Can Beat The Ducks: Why? Because Newark has activated P Justin Huisman off of the DL, and got solid performances out of new starters Dusty Bergman and Mark Woodyard over the past two days.

Tuesday, Bergman gave up eight hits over seven innings of work and allowed five runs. But none of them were earned.

But Woodyard stole the show Wednesday, and may have established himself as the favorite for the third starters spot in the playoffs with seven innings of two-hit ball against York.

Right now, it would seem as though Harold Eckert and Jose Garcia are set in stone as #1 and #2. But if the series goes three games — and it will — Bergman, Woodyard, Delvis Pacheco and Jeriome Robertson are all options.

Based on last night, Woodyard will get the nod in Long Island. – MA

Comments»

1. Carmen - September 6, 2007

Definitely, good comments Mike. I am sure that the ducks made a comment at the beginning of the season, that the Newark Bears organization didn’t have the bats and power to go to the finals. Well, here is the proove and we swept the Revs. GO BEARS.

2. Z - September 6, 2007

Is there any chance the Bears will be getting back Trujillo, Knotts or Brownlie for the playoffs???? Or has that ship sailed???

3. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - September 6, 2007

Trujillo is coming back after the playoffs end for whatever Phillies team he’s with (Clearwater?) but the others won’t be back, as far as I know.

4. www.BrickCityBruins.com - September 6, 2007

I love this hype for our Bears believe me, but … can we really get this psyched about the new dudes based on one performance against York? I mean no disrespect towards the Revs, but the Bears have had their number all season. Can our pitchers “cut the mustard” against Long Island or God forbid Camden in a playoff setting? Have you seen what Camden has done to us this season? Ouch! I prefer to remain cautiously optimistic about the new dudes. No matter how good our starters are, the game goes nine innings. Some of our recent “closings” have scared me. One recent melt-down against Long Island made me sick to my stomach. Thank God Justin Huisman is back. When he’s on, he’s brilliant. Playoff ball is a lot more intense than regular season play. I’m not going to celebrate until, well … you know. Don’t want to jinx anything. Now I know who’s going to yell at me for being critical, so let me go now at get screamed at for having an opinion. Later y’all!

5. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - September 6, 2007

All I’ll say is I don’t know how confident I would be with Jason DiAngelo closing games in the playoffs.

Seems like every time I see him pitch, something the opposite of good ends up happening…

6. Skools - September 6, 2007

Is somerset going to get back
Ryan Radmoavich
Jeff Nettles
Andy Van Hekken
Mike Kinkade
Jon Cannon
Brian Reith
Michel Hernandez
Anton French
Noah Hall
David Elder
Christopher Rojas
Manny Santana

Deff Would not want to face in the playoffs
1.Brian Adams
2.Andy Van Hekken
3.Lincoln Milerson
4.Brian Reith
Then
C-Micheal Hernedez
1b-Mike Kinkade
2b Danny Garcia
3rd- Jeff Nettles
SS- Jose Morbon/Teruis Olivares
Lf Noah Hall
Cf Mike Lockwood
RF- Anton French
DH-Pressely Romano Zinter

I know all those guys won’t come back cause they would have to release 12 guys but i like to dream

7. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - September 6, 2007

Ryan Radmoavich – Dunleavy’s article says that’s unlikely
Jeff Nettles – Appears to have a contract with KC for next year
Andy Van Hekken – Nope
Mike Kinkade – Nope
Jon Cannon – Nope
Brian Reith – Nope
Michel Hernandez – Highly unlikely
Anton French – Nope
Noah Hall – See today
David Elder – Elbow surgery
Christopher Rojas – Has been discussed, but unlikely
Manny Santana – Absolutely, positively no chance

8. www.BrickCityBruins.com - September 6, 2007

Mike … Hence my recent bout of nausea. My wish is that the source of the bellyache is put on lock-down during the playoffs. He can’t be trusted as far as I can see.

9. tteski - September 7, 2007

Ducks got Randy Leek back and also traded Pitcher Kevin Mannix to the Road Warriors for SS Gabe Suarez.


Leave a Reply

