jump to navigation

August 28, 2007 August 28, 2007

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Mikkelsen To Patriots: I’m at the ballpark, and the Somerset Patriots have signed P Lincoln Mikkelsen. So much for him going to Camden, eh?

I spoke to Patriots director of player procurement Brett Jodie about this, and he said the deal was finalized around 6:45 last night, just before game time. Everyone around the league, Jodie included, thought Mikkelsen was going to Camden, but Mikkelsen had been in contact with Travis Anderson and that Anderson received a call from Mikkelsen asking Travis to tell Jodie to call him, if that makes any sense.

Regardless, Mikkelsen is a Somerset Patriot and will join the team shortly on the road.

Breaking News – GM Bill Larsen and Bluefish Part Ways:

Bridgeport, CT – August 28, 2007 – Mary-Jane Foster, CEO of the Bridgeport Bluefish, announced today that Bill Larsen will be replaced as General Manager of the Bridgeport Bluefish.

“This has not been the year we hoped and we decided a change needed to be made,” said Foster. “We appreciate the energy and creativity Bill brought to the Bluefish and expect that we will build on the successes we have had this year.”

Larsen was the second General Manager in the teams’ 10 year history. He has held executive positions in several Minor League clubs before joining the Bridgeport Bluefish earlier this year.

Taylor Update: A trade is very close to be completed on the Reggie Taylor situation, but Dave LaPoint will not comment on the situation until Lancaster issues a release, which he expected to be happening tonight.

UPDATED: Lancaster has issued their release, announcing that Dionys Cesar has been traded to the Barnstormers from the Ducks in exchange for Reggie Taylor.

Cesar hasn’t been with the Ducks in the past two days, and Taylor IS NOT with the Ducks right now and is expected to join the team as soon as tomorrow.

Also, Kevin Mannix is on the Ducks. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. tteski - August 28, 2007

Rumors circulating on Long Island have Dionys Cesar being sent to Lancaster as part of the Reggie Taylor settlement.

2. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - August 28, 2007

This is actually a different story, believe it or not…

3. mnlem - August 28, 2007

I hope Somerset is adding someone for the playoff drive. Given the Patriots have almost no home games left, I think York is still the favorite.

4. mnlem - August 28, 2007

Great news for the Patriots!!!!

5. BoosterBabe - August 28, 2007

This just in from the Bluefish

GM Bill Larsen and Bluefish Part Ways

Bridgeport, CT – August 28, 2007 – Mary-Jane Foster, CEO of the Bridgeport Bluefish, announced today that Bill Larsen will be replaced as General Manager of the Bridgeport Bluefish.

“This has not been the year we hoped and we decided a change needed to be made,” said Foster. “We appreciate the energy and creativity Bill brought to the Bluefish and expect that we will build on the successes we have had this year.”

Larsen was the second General Manager in the teams’ 10 year history. He has held executive positions in several Minor League clubs before joining the Bridgeport Bluefish earlier this year.

6. chuckerd58 - August 29, 2007

Glad to see the Road Warriors won their “Home” game today at Newark 6-1. Must have been very cool for the Warriors to get that win.

7. BoosterBabe - August 29, 2007

Yay Warriors!
I wonder if the Bluefish will make a similar gesture.
Especially in light of the fact that this is likely their last season. (Maryland coming on board next season, right?)

8. chuckerd58 - August 29, 2007

I would really love to see every team that still play’s the Warriors give them a “Home” game.I doubt it,but it would be cool.

9. BoosterBabe - August 29, 2007

It would be a classy move.

I recall back in 98, when only Atlantic City, Nashua and Bridgeport had stadiums built….and there were 6 teams (Somerset, Newark and Lehigh Valley), Newark played their home games in Bpt and sometimes they would be the “Home” team vs Bpt. I recall Somerset being the home team at leanst once, as well. Probably occurred with Lehigh Valley but I only went to about 25-30 games a season back then. (vs 55-60 in recent years).

10. chuckerd58 - August 29, 2007

Wasn’t their a team in Aberdeen,And did they play home games in Maryland? One of those long forgotten teams.

11. BoosterBabe - August 29, 2007

Aberdeen Arsenal…definitely a one season team. I’m thinking it was 2000 or 01. Would have to consult the archives….
Definitely pre-2002. My dad was still alive.
(weird, I know but that’s one of the ways I remember stuff).

12. chuckerd58 - August 29, 2007

That’s not weird B.B.,Ialway’s think of things about my parents when they where alive. Mostly the things I yell at my kids about. lol

13. BoosterBabe - August 29, 2007

Impossible for me to disassociate anything baseball from my Dad. He was the best baseball fan I knew! And passed it along to me. It’s my way of honoring him…being the baseball nut that I am.

My mom hated baseball. Almost divorced him in 1967 (Dad was a Red Sox fan)! But she loved to cook and showed her love and creativity through cooking for people she cared about.

And somehow, I managed to combine both of those traits: I have become the baker to the Bluefish….there are home baked goodies in the clubhouse at least once per homestand. And it’s getting more frequent because I jsut replenished my baking ingredients and I want to use them up before the season ends!!!! The guys are happy, their tummies are full, they know someone cared enough to bake for them, and it makes me happy. So it’s a win-win. And my parents would both have been SO proud of me!


Leave a Reply

