jump to navigation

August 20, 2007 August 20, 2007

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

The Choice Was Obvious: They may call themselves the Atlantic League of Professional Baseball, but it takes a lot more than professional players to actually be professional.

Is there any question that the league dropped the ball here? It’s not their fault that Offerman went nuts and started swinging his bat at Matt Beech and John Nathans, that much is obvious. It could have happened anywhere, it just so happened to be in this league.

But it seems like everything that should have happened after that hasn’t happened. People aren’t going to be satisfied with these indefinite or “when his legal procedings are over” suspensions, the latter one being far more ridiculous than the former.

Want to make this go away? Say he’s done for the season, and his status will be re-evaluated in the off-season. Say that you don’t want to associate yourself with him anymore and ban him for life. Do anything other than what you did.

The next statement on this, which will apparently come after Offerman’s arraignment on August 23rd or after his “legal procedings” are over, will be the third.

It only should have taken one.

Secondly, in our phone conversation, Tommy John said the Ducks were saying this was “just baseball.”

You have to hope that isn’t true. If baseball entails a grown man swinging a wooden bat at two other grown men, then baseball sucks.

I feel bad for the league that they got all this negative publicity that came with what happened, but they sure could have helped matters by handling this a lot better.

Todd Jones Thoughts On Offerman: Drumroll please…

After solving an issue with uploading audio to my laptop, here are the long awaited quotes from Detroit Tigers closer and Major League All-Star Todd Jones on the ugly incident involving Jose Offerman. I asked him about this in the visiting clubhouse of Yankee Stadium the other day…

“It sounds to me like it’s a little bit of unprofessionalism. Jose Offerman obviously lost his mind and snapped a little bit. He took a bat after the catcher and the pitcher. In the independent league, I wouldn’t think you’re trying to throw at somebody and hurt them. Jose probably got caught up in the moment, and I bet if he had it to do over again, he wouldn’t do it.”

Lost In The Shuffle…:…was Gary Knotts’ one-hitter against the Erie Seawolves on August 16th for the Reading Phillies, just his third start since being signed out of the Atlantic League. The Erie lineup included Cameron Maybin, who’s now patrolling the Detroit Tigers outfield.

When I spoke to Bears manager Wayne Krenchicki about which of his pitchers would be coming back for the playoffs, I asked him about Knotts, and Chick told me that he thought Knotts might get a shot in the big leagues. Seems to me there’s no reason to think otherwise…

Castillo To Taiwan: Jason Guarente reported in his most recent game thread that Road Warriors P Carlos Castillo is off to Taiwan.

Marcotte To Can-Am: Former Road Warriors P Trevor Marcotte has signed with the New Haven County Cutters of the Can-Am League.

Williams Traded: Former Lancaster OF Clyde Williams was traded from the Jackals of the Can-Am League back to the Surf, where he starred last year when the team was in the Atlantic League.

French Revolt: Former Somerset and Long Island OF Anton French was cut by the North Shore Spirit.

York’s Monkey, That Funky Monkey: MinorLeagueDugout.com has the York Revolution’s promotion with Jenga the monkey as their promotion of the day.- Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. chuckerd58 - August 20, 2007

And of course,the league will be looked on with scorn because they showed no backbone.

2. BoosterBabe - August 20, 2007

I am curious to know how the Bluefish team is received by the fans in LI tonight.
Anyone who is there, please report. Thanks

Do they webcast?

3. tteski - August 20, 2007

What makes you think they will be received any different? What do you think that we’ll attack them with bats? I think you’re going a little too far overboard.

Yes, they do webcast.

4. BoosterBabe - August 20, 2007

I asked a civilized question.
I didn’t say I expected they would receive them differently. I simply said I was curious to see what the reception would be.

What’s you’re problem?
Why infer something that isn’t there?

5. tteski - August 20, 2007

Simply by asking that question you are inferring that they will be received differently.

6. BoosterBabe - August 20, 2007

Well…let’s just say I’ve been to Citibank Ballpark and I know how the fans can be sometimes. I have been booed and glared at for rooting for my team when I’m there, which I’m sorry, is very poor sportsmanship.

That would never happen in Harbor Yard.

When I see fans for an opposing team at Harbor Yard, I always greet them warmly. When it’s people from this blog or friends of people from this blog, I go out of my way to be a friend and “host” first, a rival fan, second. There was a guy there from Lancaster when they were in town, I brought him down on the field with me after the game to make sure he got the autographs he wanted from some of our guys. Someone who I met on this blog last year was having trouble getting Tommy John’s autograph in Lancaster–I told her mail me the cards and I’d get it for her. And I did.

One would hope the “rivalry” could be suspended in favor of looking at the very real human consequences of what happened but you never know. That’s all I’m saying. Having lived on LI from 1981 – 1985, I know how NY fans can be. It’s what I call “Ugly Yankee Fan Syndrome”. And lots of LI fans have it. (Not all. But lots).
Let’s hope there is no booing tonight. I’m glad Matt doesn’t have to pitch there again this season.

7. Roadwarriorfan - August 20, 2007

Wow, I’ve heard about one of our position players leaving for Taiwan, but Castillo? That will hurt the rotation. Hopefully we get a healthy Chris Flinn back soon.

8. tteski - August 20, 2007

Boosterbabe–To say that the fans in Bridgeport would never boo the Duck fans is extremely far fetched. Many times we have been booed when we came to Bridgeport, especially when we have blown our Quackers. Also, don’t forget about the sayings that your sign guy puts on his signs that he carries on his shoulders for the games. However, we can see that it is all in fun and not serious while you seem to be wound a little too tight and can’t differentiate between fun jesting and serious threats. You believe that everyone is against you and your team 100 percent of the time. This is evident in many of your posts throughout the years and many people have commented on how serious you take everything. You’ve got to lighten up and take a few steps back and not over think everything and think that everyone is against you. You’ll give yourself a heart attack.

Case in point–We had 51 Duck fans go to York on Saturday. We had the large suite directly behind home and of course we all had our Quackers and used them as often as possible. One of the fans in the suite next to us turned to his wife and said “Honey, I told you we should have brought our hunting rifle to the game with us. It’s Duck season and we could have bagged ourselves a lot of Ducks and had some Duck-al’orange tonight (referring to the orange shirts we all were wearing). We all laughed and had a good time with them the rest of the night. If that had been you, based on your past postings and how serious you take everything, you would have called the police and said that someone is threatening to shoot you.

9. BoosterBabe - August 21, 2007

Well I can’t seem to get the Ducks webcast but a friend who is able to listen just called to tell me that Joe Klein issued a statement.

Matt Beech has been suspended for 3 games, beginning tonight (so at least he won’t miss a start), and he has been fined an undisclosed amount.

Also, Jared Price was suspended for 2 games, and given an undisclosed fine as well.

And as for Offerman, they are waiting to see what happens at the arraignment on Thursday.

This is SO unfair.

10. BoosterBabe - August 21, 2007

This is one time I wish I had been wrong.

11. chuckerd58 - August 21, 2007

Boosterbabe,the game is on the webcast,just go to liducks.com,go down to listen live and click,you should be able to get it. And just to make you feel better,your Fish lead 7-0.

12. BoosterBabe - August 21, 2007

I can’t get it.
They don’t bother webcasting so it can be received by a Mac.
All the other teams’ webcasts support Mac OS X but not the Ducks…..

And there seems to be something wrong with the sound on my ancient PC.

I’m going to bed.

13. chuckerd58 - August 21, 2007

OK,well sorry boosterbabe,I’m getting it just fine. I’ll let you know the fan reaction at tommorow nights game.Weather permitting.

14. chuckerd58 - August 21, 2007

After reading all about how players can make some good money overseas,I’m not surprised Castillo left.Hurts the Warriors,but good for him,I hope it works out.


Leave a Reply

