jump to navigation

August 13, 2007 August 13, 2007

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Patriots Card Set Giveaway: As I mentioned about a week ago, I’ve got an extra set of 2007 Somerset Patriots baseball cards to give away. Considering the first two cards in the set are Sparky Lyle and Brett Jodie, I thought I’d have this particular contest have a Yankees theme.

I’ve interviewed a little more than 300 players with Major League experience in my career. E-mail me at mashmore98@gmail.com with the subject of “Patriots cards,” and the person who can come closest to guessing the total amount of Yankees I’ve interviewed in my career wins the set.

The contest ends at the end of the month. In the event of a tie, the person who guesses the correct amount first will win.

Keep in mind I cover the Yankees Double-A affiliate, too…

Bridgeport Gets Bentz: Rich Elliott of The Connecticut Post is reporting that the Bridgeport Bluefish have signed P Chad Bentz. You might remember he was originally slated to come to Camden, but was released during Spring Training.

Bridgeport, of course, is done coming into Somerset this season, so I’ll have to head elsewhere to talk to him and/or be fortunate enough to see him pitch.

Bierbrodt Becomes 14th Bluefish Starter: Yesterday, Nick Bierbrodt became the 14th different starting pitcher used by the Bridgeport Bluefish, tying a league high.

He joins Pat Ahearne, Matt Beech, Garrett Berger, Brian Boehringer, Bryan Edwards, (the recently retired) Evan Fahrner, Eric Junge, Steven Kent, Jordan Pals, Matt Perisho, Mike Porzio, Justin Sturge and Manny Ulloa.

Camden has used 10, Lancaster has used 9, Long Island has used 9, Newark has used 12, the Road Warriors have used 11, Somerset has used 11 and York has also used 14.

How Would You Name An Award After Him?: York’s Nate Espy, has the Atlantic League’s longest active hitting streak (18) and longest streak of games having reached base (41).

Bladergroen Stepping Up: The Road Warriors Ian Bladergroen is right on Espy’s heels in the hitting streak department though, extending it to 17 games last night in Somerset. The former Brooklyn Cyclone has really stepped up his game lately, rebounding from a slow start to increase his average from .215 to .286 over the span of the streak.

In another Road Warriors note, Chris Eickhorst’s relief outing of 5.2 innings on Saturday was his third outing of three innings or more in his last four appearances, and also his fifth outing of three innings or longer this season.

Bridgeport Has The Fastest Man In Baseball: Well, at least according to his website. In one of those great Atlantic League “heeeeeeeey, that guy wasn’t on the roster the last time I looked here” moves, the Bluefish have apparently signed OF Josh Terrell. Terrell, who is the first player to come to the AL from the ill-fated New York State League, was 12 for 12 in steal attempts in that league.

Stat Of The Day: The Road Warriors and Lancaster Barnstormers have the exact same number of players with Major League experience with four.

The RW’s have Benito Baez, Carlos Castillo, Mike Garcia and Jeff Tam.
Lancaster has Chris Brock, Damian Moss, Felix Martinez and Eric Crozier.

However, Camden currently has the fewest amount of big leaguers in the league with just two; Craig Paquette and Anthony Ferrari.

Bridgeport has 7, Long Island has the most with 13, Newark has 7, Somerset has 9 and York has 6.

For all you math majors out there, that’s 52 players with MLB experience in all, and it’s very possible I missed one or two. For the record, 19 of those players are on BASA teams. 33 are not.

Worth Noting: Newark P Jeriome Robertson, who recently talked about how much he looked forward to facing the Ducks, was lit up by them on the island on Saturday. He allowed six runs on nine hits over five innings of work. He also gave up two home runs, but did not factor into the decision. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. BoosterBabe - August 13, 2007

Speaking of Josh Terrell….
Some Dugout HiJinks ensued Saturday night between pitcher Steven Kent and the newest member of the team. Terrell and Kent were standing beside each other, leaning on the fence in front of the dugout. Kent was chewing greenish-blue bubblegum. He blew a bubble, took it out of his mouth, pinched it closed and stuck it to the top of Terrell’s hat. There was Terrell…standing there, completely unaware he had a bubblegum bubble stuck to his hat! Kent did this 3 or 4 times. Each time the bubble deflated, he added another. It was really hysterical! At one point, the kids right behind the dugout started calling out to him “Hey….#7!” presumably to tell him there was bubble gum on his head. One of the other players (I won’t say who….) turned to the kid and put his finger to his mouth (the classic “shushing” gesture!) This went on for about 2-3 innings, until he finally noticed it. I had left my seat, so I missed it when he noticed it, but friends saw it and and said he wasn’t mad at all…he took it in the spirit of good-natured ribbing that I hope it was meant.

I have to say: it was a bright spot in a weekend that provided a lot of “eye covering” moments. (the kind of games where it’s so awful, you can’t even look, you just cover your eyes in horror that a team with talent and demonstrated ability just can’t get it together).

2. chuckerd58 - August 13, 2007

Bierbrodt was awesome yesterday,5 earned runs and only one hit against him in the second inning. What’s the deal with the Fish wearing red jersies. And couldn’t they have told Lancaster so they could have worn their grey jersies. It was so weird seeing both teams in red.

3. chuckerd58 - August 13, 2007

Good for Terrell,I hope he make’s it,at least he hustled.

4. BoosterBabe - August 14, 2007

Chuck, were you there? Why didn’t you come say hello? I was at the Booster Table.

I didn’t watch most of the game…too painful for me. I was focused on my Booster Table activities!!!!! (Anything but watching that painful, dreadful mess)

5. chuckerd58 - August 14, 2007

My bad,I was over in the rightfield G.A. seats with 6 hungry kids,lol. Between getting food,waiting for them to finish off at the bounce house and pitch thing,all i wanted to do was catch some of the game, by the time i made my way around to where the booster table was,we where getting on line to run the bases. Despite the score,and running after kids,it was still a fun day. But,what was the deal with the red jersies.

6. BoosterBabe - August 14, 2007

Patriot Bank sponsored the red jerseys. They’ve spent a TON of money this season.

They have worn them with Newark, Lancaster and Camden. We lost all 3 times. I HATE THOSE RED JERSEYS!!!!

Red is actually my favorite color for my own clothes, I look nice in red and I enjoy wearing it, but for some reason, seeing the Bluefish in RED just throws me off. I expect to see my Red Sox in Red (actually, their home jerseys are white, aways are gray… I think it’s their BP shirts that are red….but I digress)

Seeing the Bluefish in red just seems incongruous for me. It just doesn’t register. My eye seeks out either white or blue.

I also hate it when the home and visitors use the same color jerseys because then you have to watch the color of their pants. And in bright sunlight, you sometimes can’t tell gray from white.


Leave a Reply

