jump to navigation

July 21, 2007 July 21, 2007

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Angel Pena Released: Somewhat surprising news out of Camden, as a source reports that the team has released slugger Angel Pena. Pena was hitting .261 with seven home runs and 24 RBI at the time. I don’t think it’s at all unfair to say he wasn’t in the greatest shape by any means, but he was still producing, so this is somewhat of a peculiar move.

I slept about three hours last night. It shows.

At Yankee Stadium: I’m working on an Edwar Ramirez story and a Shelley Duncan story for my Thunder coverage.

Highlights of the day so far…

– Brian Cashman calling me “dude”
– Bob Sheppard’s wet hand
– Riding the elevator with actor Robert Wuhl
– Having Kyle Farnsworth tell me that he doesn’t have a brother pitching for York.

Highlights of the day after game one of the doubleheader…

– Showing up for a Shelley Duncan feature and seeing him hit his first MLB HR
– Edwar Ramirez being gracious enough to talk to me after being sent down
– Paying $2.75 for a 20 oz. Coke, a hot dog and a pretzel
– I get paid to do this.

Ask The…Ummm…Guy In The Can-Am League: OK, so he’s still the new guy, he’s just the new guy in a different league for the time being.

Former York P Matt Hirsh took time to answer the questions of ALB.com reader Michelle Otis…

Michelle Asks:

What was (your) experience like in the Atlantic League?
Do you think you’ll ever come back to the league?
How did you end up with Sussex, and why did you pick the Can-Am League?
How does the Can-Am League compare to the AL?

Matt’s Answer

Hey Michelle,

My experience in the Atlantic League was one of trial and error. I had a blast while I was there and learned a lot from the guys on my team. I’ll say that first and foremost it showed me that I have the ability to get guys out, which I think will lead me to the big leagues. I was able to get guys out who’ve played in the big leagues and who’ve been playing for upwards of 10 years. Not having pitched above Rookie level competition, I think I did pretty well with York. My stats might not reflect it, but I think that I made the adjustments to get guys out and have success. I struggled a little bit but bounced back and was able to come back strong. The things I learned while playing there will definitely help me here in the Can-Am League and throughout the rest of my career.

I can’t quite say that I know I’ll be coming back to the Atlantic League but it’s always a possibility. You never know what can happen in baseball so it’s really up in the air. Ideally I’d like to get back to affiliated ball next year but if I end up back in the Atlantic League so be it. As long as I have a place to play I’ll be happy.

I ended up in Sussex by way of Mike Ashmore. He sent out some emails and heard back from a coach here in Sussex saying that he’d sign me. I pretty much have him to thank for being here with the Skyhawks. I didn’t really choose to be in this league, it just happened to be that the team interested in me was here.

I’ll say that the competition in the Atlantic League is definitely better than here in the Can-Am League, but I think it’s a good fit for me. I was a little in over my head there in the AL being a rookie and not having pitched against experienced competition. I’ve noticed that the main difference so far between the leagues is that the games take a little bit longer here than in the AL. So far, the last two games we’ve played have lasted at least 3 hours and its seems like innings just crawl by here. I’m not too familiar with this league but so far it seems like a pretty good fit for me. I’ve been told its comparable to High A ball but I’m just happy to be given an opportunity to pitch and get some innings under my belt.

-Matt

http://www.hirshbrothers.com/

New ‘Sharks Debut: Both OF Cristian Guerrero and 1B Ryan Lehr debuted for the Camden Riversharks last night.

Guerrero was 1-for-4 with a run scored and a strikeout, while Lehr was 0-for-4 in the Riversharks 8-6 loss to the Road Warriors. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

