jump to navigation

July 7, 2007 July 7, 2007

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Catching Up With Jason Bowers: The area under his right eye was purple and yellow, complete with a large pink lump. All the result of getting hit in the face with a teammates bat during BP. His hand was heavily wrapped in white tape, thanks to getting drilled trying to break up a double play.

But former Lancaster Barnstormers INF Jason Bowers played last night, coming in to pinch run in the ninth inning while former Bluefish OF Alex Fernandez pinch hit.

We sat down before the game and talked about his time with the Barnstormers and where he’s at now…

You spent most of the first half with Lancaster last year before getting picked up by the Orioles. Take me through that experience…

Well, it was a different experience. I got released by the Giants and signed with the Barnstormers. I was there for about three weeks, then I got signed by the Orioles and went to Triple-A. The Atlantic League was different, it was a different step for my career. I had a good time, it was decent baseball. But it was definitely nice to get back to affiliated ball.

Tell me about coming back for the playoffs…

I stayed with the Orioles for the whole season, but then I came back for the playoffs. It was fun, that’s why I went back. I had a great time, it was a good bunch of guys. It takes it back to when it was a lot of fun. Guys obviously aren’t playing for money over there, mostly everybody’s just playing the game because they love it.

You’re a guy who’d spen your entire career in affiliated ball before coming to the Atlantic League. Did you have any reservations about going to independent baseball?

I’ve always said my whole career that I’d never play independent ball. I just never thought that was a step that I wanted to take. But you never know what you’ll do until you’re faced with certain situations. When I got released by the Giants, I had no other choice at the time. But I’d recommend it to a lot of players. I sent a couple of my buddies over there this year…

Like who?

Bo Hart. He got signed with the Iowa Cubs, so he’s playing in Triple-A. He felt the same way, he wasn’t that thrilled about it. But he went, and I told him he wouldn’t be there that long and that he’d get picked up, and he did.

You were in the Atlantic League long enough to know that not every fan experience is like what you got in Lancaster. Tell me about what it was like to be a part of that…

I’m not sure how many fans they draw, but for that league I thought it was good. I’ve played in front of a lot more people than that, but it was awesome. It was a small town and they really pull for their team. They know the game, and it makes it a lot of fun to play there. I’d put that right up with any place in baseball, in the minor leagues. The fans are great there.

So now, you’re in Double-A Altoona with the Pirates. Talk me through your season, what’s it been like for you so far…

I went to camp again with the Orioles, but I got hurt. When I got healthy, there was no roster spot for me, so I asked for my release. I got my release, and then the Pirates called me the day after. I had to come back to Double-A, which is another step back for me in my career, but it’s been good. The team’s great, we’ve got a good bunch of guys, the staff’s great. There’s good chemistry here. Altoona’s got a great ballpark, they draw also. The fans are great there, it’s a great setup. I’m having a good time, I’m having fun again. Of course, I just got hurt again. But it’s been a good time.

You’ve got a nice big shiner under that eye and your hand’s wrapped up. What happened?

My eye, that was about four or five days ago. Our shortstop, Brandon Chaves, hit me in the eye with a bat. Then last night, I was sliding into second base trying to break up a double play, and the shortstop threw the ball and it hit me in my hand. I guess it’s a good thing it’s not broken, but it’s been a rough past week.

Holy Crap, Here Come The Bears: Don’t look now, but the Newark Bears are going to win the North Division.

After their win over Long Island and Bridgeport’s loss to York, THE NEWARK BEARS ARE NOW JUST A HALF GAME BACK OF THE BLUEFISH.

Newark has two games left to play against the Ducks at home, while Bridgeport has two left in York and then another make-up game against the Riversharks.

The Ducks remain 1.5 games back with the loss.

What a ridiculous and unexpected — yet pleasant — turn of events it would be if the Bears could finally escape five years of mediocrity and finally earn a playoff berth. – Ashmore

Comments»

1. BoosterBabe - July 7, 2007

I can’t believe I’m about to type this:

GO DUCKS!

The Ducks taking 2 from Newark to end the series is the only hope the Bluefish have to win the first half.

I almost cried last night. I actually turned it off in the bottom of the 8th…when the Revs got those last few runs, I just turned it off in frustration.

Am going to enemy territory tonight (Yankee Stadium on freebies from my client) so I probably won’t be home until 9-ish….so I don’t know if I’ll be listening tonight.

Tomorrow I’m baking for the team. They’re getting goodies in the morning since they have to play that stupid make up game at the ungodly hour of 10am. I thought since I couldn’t be there, I’d show the love in another way.

They do this to us seemingly every year. (except 2005 when they just flat-out stunk) They win all season, they are in first most of the first half, then the last few days, they just collapse. It’s like they just ran out of gas or something.

What is up with that!????? This team is WAY better then they’ve played the last 3 games. They’ve always been able to score runs…we lost a double header by identical 7-1 scores Thursday night. At least last night, the bats came alive, it was our pitching that was kinda weak last night. And our starting pitcher normally does a MUCH better job than he did last night.

Get your head back in the game, guys!!! If you win the next 2 from York, you can coast the rest of the season! (IF Long Island wins, too)

Go FISH and GO DUCKS!(oh my god, that’s just wrong for me to say that! that’s like me saying Go Yan……forget it, that will NEVER happen!!!) πŸ™‚

Now the big debate begins: what do I wear to Yankee Stadium today? I’m not stupid enough to wear my “Yankees Suck” Red Sox shirt (though I’d love to, but I don’t feel like getting murdered in the Bronx today) or any other Red Sox gear. My only Mets stuff is a sweatshirt, too warm for that. Which leaves either stop at Bob’s and look for an Anaheim Angels shirt (Not likely to get a lot of wear outta that, unless it’s an old Mo Vaughn shirt, which I would wear!), or wear something Bluefish. And they just broke my heart the last couple of days, so I don’t know if I’m really up for that. Which leaves: normal clothes.
Hmmmm, quite a concept!

2. Z - July 7, 2007

Why don’t you just wear your “Red Sox Sucks” t-shirt??????

3. Tim14 - July 7, 2007

RE: Jason Bowers

“It’s very bad to still Joe Boo’s rum. Very bad.” — Pedro Cerrano

4. Fausto Gabon - July 8, 2007

So then, does a Bear crap in the North?

5. Fausto Gabon - July 8, 2007

Or, have the Fish **** the bed?

6. BoosterBabe - July 8, 2007

Well, at least the Yankees lost tonight and I got to hear 30,000 arrogant SOBs suddenly go silent when their team lost. Yes, only 30,000 of them, because the rest of 52,000 people who were there left early, when the score was tied.

Let me ask you something.

How do you leave a game in the 8th when the game is tied at 1-1? How do you leave at the top of 9th? How do you leave in the 11th inning, when your team is tied at 1? When they didn’t score in the 11th, people left. And I looked at my friend and said “those are not real fans”. And after the Angels took the lead 2-1 in the top of the 13th, there was a MASS EXODUS out of that stadium. I said out loud (to my friend, a Mets fan) “When the going gets tough…I guess Yankee fans go home”.

How do you do that? How can you leave? If “avoiding traffic” is more important that watching the end of a game and the potential of watching your team battle it out until the end, maybe battle back and win…you should stay home and watch it on YES network and avoid the traffic altogether.

As for the Bluefish….well…I guess there’s always the second half.

I’m not getting upset over it. I can’t. It’s “only” baseball.

7. www.BrickCityBruins.com - July 8, 2007

Oh happy day! And THANK YOU YORK!

8. KenD - July 8, 2007

Altogether now!

DA BEARS!!!!

9. BoosterBabe - July 8, 2007

Bluefish were swept by York.

I can’t get a score from LI but right now, we are 1 game behind Newark. Even if Newark loses and we win tomorrow…we finish in a tie, which we lose by virtue of Newark beating Bpt more than we beat them. It’s over.

I can’t believe they lost 5 games in a row. I don’t think they’ve done that all season.

Wait, do we still have to play tomorrow? Camden is 3.5 games ahead of Somerset…the best we can hope for is a tie, which will result in us losing…the game is meaningless.

I’m so disappointed, I just want to cry.

Oh wait… there’s no crying in baseball. But sometimes, I think there should be!

SINCERELY…..
Congrats Bears fans.
Your team fought hard and you deserve to bask in this first half victory! Enjoy it.

If the Bluefish are in contention by the end of the season, the Booster Club will be there on Sept 15th for the last series of the season! πŸ™‚

Hope to see ya then! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

