jump to navigation

July 4, 2007 July 4, 2007

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

HAPPY FOURTH! – SS & MA

Former Road Warrior Sheldon Fulse

Catching Up With Sheldon Fulse: I was in Trenton last night, taking in the phenomenal pitching matchup of the Thunder’s Joba Chamberlain versus Harrisburg’s Collin Balester.

But before that, I spent about five minutes with OF Sheldon Fulse, who spent his entire 2006 season with the Road Warriors.

Here’s how the conversation went…

Sheldon, you spent all of last year with the Road Warriors. What was your experience like on that team and in the league?

It was a good experience. I pushed myself a little bit as far as trying to get into a good routine and keeping my head in the game, even though things weren’t exactly the way I would desire them to be.

How do you not let a situation like playing all your games on the road beat you down?

Well, I can’t say it didn’t beat me down. It beat me down some. Thankfully, we had a good group of guys and we just kind of bonded together and kept the clubhouse loose. Even if we weren’t winning as much as we’d like, we tried to still have a good time.

So after spending an entire year in the Atlantic League without getting picked up, if I told you last year that we’d be sitting here this season…would you have believed me?

I’d believe you. Just because in baseball, crazier things have happened. Anything can happen. I was still holding out hope when I was in that league to get a job this year and get back into affiliated ball.

So take me through how you did get back to affiliated ball…

I was working out this off-season, and I knew some guys who were in this organization. I tried to stay persistent, and went to Tampa to work out to show that I really wanted to play. Thankfully, they called the right people and I got signed.

If a situation arose where you’d have to come back to the Atlantic League, would you?

I don’t think so. I’m not in baseball to just keep playing over and over and over, I’m in there to hopefully try and fulfill my dream. Other than that, I’ve got to go back to college sometime. I’m just giving it my best shot, and hopefully things work out where I don’t have to take that step back to try to get back forward.

What would you be pursuing in college?

Engineering. I’m in computer engineering right now, that’s what I was going to do out of high school.

Spivey Leaves Bluefish…For Now: Rich Elliott of The Connecticut Post reports that INF Junior Spivey has left the Bridgeport Bluefish. According to the article, Spivey is attending to a personal matter and will likely not return by the end of the first half.

Nettles Story Making National Headlines: It’s interesting, this independent baseball we follow. A guy can be here for five years, and nobody cares…but when he signs in affiliated ball, SI.com is all over it.

The website picked up an AP article about Somerset’s Jeff Nettles signing with the Kansas City Royals. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. BoosterBabe - July 4, 2007

Ya know….I didn’t see him last night and wondered where Junior was.

Hope everything is ok. His family was here for a awhile but went home last week. I had a chance to spend a little while with his wife and son in the stands and she was very sweet. His son was so cute, when Junior came up to bat, little guy didn’t say “That’s my daddy!!” he said, all excited.. “that’s MY Junior Spivey!”

2. Roadwarriorfan - July 4, 2007

Great to see Sheldon with my favorite MLB organization! Stole 50 bases last year in grey, great player.

3. BoosterBabe - July 4, 2007

I would like to open up a topic of discussion if it’s ok.
I had a conversation with someone in the stands last night (and actually a similar conversation with someone else the night before) and I want to get other people’s opinions on this.

Both cases involved a coach or a manager using the F word and other words that might be considered harsh language, directed toward a player (or in one case, players), during the course of a game.

The two women I spoke with advised me that these incidences changed their opinions of the people using the language, for one thing, and perhaps a bigger issue for me, gave me the whole “tsk tsk, there are kids around, they shouldn’t use that language” blather.

I didn’t want to argue with these people so I just sort of nodded my head and changed the subject. Both women spoke to the men about using the offensive language, and both men came back with sentiments along the lines of “I’m doing my job, leave me alone”. But it got me to thinking, and I realized that I agree with the guys, and I also feel that talking to them about it was WAY over the line on their part.

These guys are doing a job. We just happen to be there to watch them do their jobs. What we hear may not be pretty, but it’s life and we have to accept that sometimes, in life, things are not pretty. As far as the kids go, I have NO patience for the “tsk tsk there are kids around you need to watch your mouth” mentality.

My parents raised me with the acknowlegement that “some people have potty mouths, but we don’t. So you might hear that language, but it’s NOT acceptable in our house and if YOU say it, you will be punished.” It was my parents job to teach me about bad language, not other people’s jobs not to use it around me. So I just simply don’t buy that. I don’t use bad language around other people’s kids, but I don’t use it in front of others, in general, anyway, because I don’t want to project the image of a potty mouth. But I have been known to utter the F word under my breath when someone misses a play or I realize I forgot something important or I just missed my exit, you get the idea. If someone’s around to hear it, oh well. I don’t use it that often, I’m a grown up, and oh yeah, I’m not perfect. So deal with it. I have a very “live and let live” attitude towards potty mouth. While I prefer not to hear it, I’m not going to criticize someone out to their face about it, either. I might make a decision about spending time with that person based on it, but I’m not going to criticize them. It’s just not worth the effort.

One of the women also gave me the whole “they are supposed to be role models, kids look up to them”. Again…not their job. THeir job is to manage a team. Parents need to manage their kids expectations of the world, not to have the world conform to their kids.

Without getting into whether humiliation is an effective motivator in the workplace (for some people, it might be!), do you think it’s acceptable for baseball managers/coaches to use what might, in a social setting, be considered “harsh language”, when they are on the Field and doing their job during the course of a game?

Now I want to be clear, I’m not talking about being rude or disrespectful to a fan. If a coach swore at a fan…I’d have a problem with that. But in the course of doing his job with the players, I have to allow some leeway, because we DO NOT know the whole story and for all we know, certain guys might respond to that better than a softer approach.

Bottom Line: I think these guys need to be allowed to do their job the way that is most effective for them and their players. And if that involves the F word…..close your ears, grow a thicker skin, or sit farther off the Field if you don’t wanna hear it.

So what do you all think?

4. chuckerd58 - July 4, 2007

I agree with you boosterbabe,in the heat of battle things will be said that are not considered proper,but that’s life. As long as it’s not directed at a kid.

5. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - July 4, 2007

If something a few letters short of “firetruck” is the worst thing you hear at a game, you’ve probably done pretty well…


Leave a Reply

