jump to navigation

May 18, 2007 May 18, 2007

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Hall (Picture: Somerset Patriots)

Catching Up With Patriots: I’m in lovely Trenton tonight, and I managed to catch up with Noah Hall.

If you blinked you may have missed him, but Hall was picked up by the Yankees after just one game in Somerset.

“It was awesome, (Somerset) was really a great place. I liked it,” Hall said. “If I ever had to go back to that league, that’s one of the best places to go. From what I’d heard from other people and from what I’d seen myself, they’re just classy over there.”

After going 2-for-4 as the Patriots opening day starting left fielder, Hall found himself signed by the 26-time World Champs, and was assigned to Trenton.

“They said before Spring Training that if somebody gets hurt, they might have a spot for me,” he said.

“When you hear that, you get excited. But then you’re like we’ll see. And sure enough, they called. I’m very grateful to them to give me an opportunity to play at this level.”

So is he just a fill-in, or does he have a future with the big club?

“That’s a good question right there,” Hall said. “I’d like to view myself as a guy that can move up. For me, I’ve kind of done what I need to do at this level. I’ve had good years here, I’d like to see what I can do at Triple-A.”

I also spent a few minutes with this mystery man from the 2000 Patriots. I’ll have a feature on his time with the Patriots and what he’s been up to since in the 5/24 Democrat. Who is he? Hmmm…

Derek Barrows Update: Ask, and ye shall receive. I’ve received a few e-mails, and we also got a comment yesterday asking about the status of Derek Barrows.

I spoke to Barrows on the phone for about ten minutes today. He pitched a inning in Atlantic League spring training, allowing no runs against Camden.

However, he was battling tendinitis at the time and his velocity wasn’t where it needed to be, although he said he was told that his offspeed stuff was good.

Since his release, he’s been working on his pitching technique, specificially working on using his lower half more. As a result, his velocity is around 90.

The former Rockies farmhand loves the game, and wants to be back in uniform, either as a coach or a player. He received a few off-season calls from various affiliated teams asking him whether he’d be interesting in a career in coaching or scouting, so you may see him enter that field.

But don’t be surprised to see him back in a uniform, either. Teams always need pitching, and there’s no reason not to give him a chance.

Dear Diary: York Revolution P Matt Hirsh is keeping a journal, and you can check out his latest entry here. Why are the Revs uniforms partially pink? He’ll tell you why…

Franklin Nunez (right) has been placed on the disabled list.

Nunez Placed on DL; Gutierrez and Gil activated: The York Revolution have placed P Franklin Nunez on the DL and have activated SS Vic Gutierrez and P David Gil.

They also signed P Jeff Farnsworth.

Camden Cuts Berroa: The Camden Riversharks have released INF Cristian Berroa. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. chuckerd58 - May 19, 2007

I liked the pictures from Newark. It is such a nice park with some unique backdrops such as the large screen in left field,parking garage in right,and the hidden bullpens. It just a shame they don’t draw better.


Leave a Reply

