jump to navigation

May 11, 2007 May 11, 2007

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Photo Gallery: As usual, some photos from the past two days of Atlantic League play…

Estee Harris shares a laugh with a teammate in the dugout yesterday.

York native Travis Hake got the start at second tonight.

Former big leaguer Matt Ford warming up for his start

Matt Dryer in his return to Somerset

York Activates Two: C Luis Taveras and INF Rayner Bautista have both been activated by the York Revolution for tonight’s game against the Somerset Patriots. No word on if Taveras is in the lineup tonight, but he is expected to do the majority of the catching for the club.

Also, SS Vic Gutierrez was placed on the DL.

UPDATED: Taveras and Bautista are both in the lineup.

Redman (All Photos: Ashmore)

Leading Off With Tike Redman: York Revolution OF Tike Redman has a message for anyone looking for an outfielder.

“If there’s a team out there that wants me, come get me, because I’m ready,” he said.

The former Pittsburgh Pirate entered play today second to only Lance Burkhart in batting average, with the 30-year-old Alabama native hitting at a .579 clip.

“I feel like if I can’t put up numbers here, then I can’t put up numbers anywhere,” Redman said.

“But I’ve still got the heart, and for as long as I’m here, I’ve got to keep playing and keep putting numbers up. Hopefully I won’t be here too long, but if I am then so be it. I’m going to still play this game until my legs give out.”

After five seasons in the big leagues, Redman found himself bouncing around the minors in 2006 with the Mets, Tigers and Astros. Unable to get a job this season and with no offers overseas, Redman received a call asking him if he’d be interested in playing for the York Revolution.

Although he contemplated not playing this season, he doesn’t regret deciding to stick with it.

“So far, this is a pretty good league,” he said.

“You’ve got some pretty good pitchers that have been in the big leagues before, and they’re trying to get back just like I am. And I love facing good pitchers, because it makes me better.”

However, Redman and the rest of the York Revolution don’t expect to be facing any of those pitchers at home anytime soon. And that’s OK with him.

“It doesn’t hurt me at all, I like playing on the road. I have my best games on the road. I’m more relaxed when I’m on the road, there’s not anything to worry about. We’ll just go out there and hear the fans, hear the boos, and turn those boos into silence (Laughs).”

Redman made a tremendous catch in right in the seventh, robbing Todd Leathers of a hit down the line. He made some pretty solid chest-first contact with the wall, but is fine.

This game features at least two players who have no business in the Atlantic League — Redman and Patriots backstop Michel Hernandez.

Ferrari Dealership In Camden: The Camden Riversharks have signed and activated P Anthony Ferrari. Ferrari originally thought he might be playing for the Bluefish, but clearly that didn’t work out.

Ducks Deactivate Lewis: Long Island has deactivated INF Mark Lewis. He played in just one game, going 0-for-2. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. Ryan - May 12, 2007

Thanks for the pictures of some of the Revs. It’s sad that their official website is severely lacking in photography of the team.

2. BoosterBabe - May 12, 2007

Re: Eric Junge and the Bluefish pitching staff:

According to today’s CT Post, Junge starts tonight and Steve Kent goes tomorrow. Pals is out “indefinitely” but is getting treatment for a sore elbow and will not pitch again until he is pain free.

They said Pals will miss “Sunday’s scheduled start” which seems odd to me since the game where he got hurt was Tuesday, which would give him the #4 spot in the rotation. We never saw the #5 pitcher b/c there was an off day so they went back to #1 with 5 days rest. I’m just saying, it seems to me Pals would have been sked to start tonight, no?
I know, it’s hair-splitting.

Anyway, am off to hang out laundry and help a friend move……


Leave a Reply

