jump to navigation

April 28-29, 2007 April 28, 2007

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Bern, Baby, Bern?: Ryan Dunleavy writes in his Spring Training Diary that the Somerset Patriots may be bringing in OF Bernie Williams. It’s just a rumor at this point, and Williams’ name is one I’d heard as possibly headed to Long Island during the off-season as well — but that’s all it was back then, just a rumor.

I’d be very surprised to see this happen, although it does make some sense in some areas. Somerset has had their chance at big name players in the past (Jeremy Giambi, John Rocker, Juan Gonzalez, etc.) but has generally passed due to clubhouse concerns. I think you’d be very hard pressed to think that Williams would be anything but a positive presence.

Also, according to Dunleavy, the team has signed OF Jose Morban. They have three starting pitchers and about four starting outfielders at this point. I don’t know what to tell you…

Also, The Edmonton Sun reports that former Pats OF Ryan Radmanovich will be making nearly three times what he could make with the Patriots for his new team, the Edmonton Cracker Cats.

Riversharks Radio Preview: Again, I’ll be on the Riversharks preview show today (Saturday) at around 12:30. I will unquestionably be a disaster, but if you want to tune in, I’ll get you all the details as soon as I can…

The show (Out of Bounds Sports Talk) is on Rowan Radio, 89.7 WGLS-FM, The show can also be heard, streaming live at http://wgls.rowan.edu.

Update: I made my playoff picks and gave my thoughts on the Road Warriors, Riversharks and Patriots during my ten minute spot. I’ll be doing another Eastern League-related spot tomorrow on another station talking about Phil Hughes…I’m apparently rather in demand lately. – Ashmore

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

