jump to navigation

March 12, 2007 – Rob Cafiero Q&A March 12, 2007

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Rob Cafiero Q&A: Make sure you’re checking out atlanticleaguebaseball.com at 7PM, when Long Island Ducks first baseman Rob Cafiero stops by to answer fans previously submitted questions.

Drafted by the Phillies in 2002, the 26-year-old has re-joined the Ducks for his fifth season in the Atlantic League. The Villanova grad spent one year in Philadelphia’s minor league system before joining the Road Warriors in 2003. After one more season of nothing but bus rides, the Massapequa native came back home, signing with Long Island in 2005.

He was used in a variety of roles last season, but gained notoriety for his prowess on the mound as a knuckleballer. He appeared in ten games as a pitcher, posting a 3.38 ERA and no record in 16 innings pitched.

Will he return to the mound in 2007? Where did he learn the knuckleball?

For answers to all that and more, make sure you’re here at 7PM. Keep refreshing the comments section to stay updated.

Comments»

1. StormerDude - March 12, 2007

Mike:
Check this out…
Atlantic League has drug testing
http://www.ydr.com/revolution/ci_5417323

2. Scott Stanchak - March 12, 2007

Thanks “Stormerdude.” Really nothing new that we haven’t reported here and that I mentioned the other day with Rocker’s name coming up. I know there are times that the clubhouses are closed prior to games for testing, but you rarely hear anything. Eventually someone will be the league’s example. – Scott

3. qwackedup - March 12, 2007

Rob,
A loaded question or maybe several questions in one. Being one of the younger players in the league, what are your goals? I know you have used your Ducks’ career to establish yourself and get your name out to do lessons and establish a business but how far do you want your career to go? Is your pitching a novelty or is it something that you hope will become more serious? Where do you see yourself 10 years from now?

4. qwackedup - March 12, 2007

sorry, should have emailed that but posted it instead. please take it for Rob tonight. thanks.

5. SouthernALFan - March 12, 2007

The league did NOT test for “street drugs” last year.

6. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - March 12, 2007

Rob should be here around 7. Stay tuned.

7. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - March 12, 2007

Rob’s inbetween lessons at the Storm Baseball Academy, and is ready to go. I don’t know how long we’ll have him for, so let’s get this one started.

Thanks for taking the time to answer these… My question
is simple, who were the best guys to be around on last
years team? Funniest? Most enjoyable?

8. Rob Cafiero - March 12, 2007

Last year we had a great group of guys in the clubhouse and on the field. Going to the stadium everyday was enjoyable, and that is not always the case some years. We had a lot of different guys on the team that kept the mood in the clubhouse light. Pat Mahomes and Bill Pulsipher are two guys that kept everyone entertained. And of course I can’t forget our bullpen catcher Eric “big E” Colon.

9. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - March 12, 2007

Who taught you how to throw the knuckleball?

10. Rob Cafiero - March 12, 2007

No one taught me how to throw the knuckleball, I taught myself I guess. I started messing around throwing a knuckleball when I was a kid and played whiffleball out in front of my house with my brother. Whenever I would play catch I would try throwing it with different grips and learned how to throw it on my own.

11. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - March 12, 2007

Would you be comfortable pitching again this season?

12. Rob Cafiero - March 12, 2007

I would definitely be comfortable pitching again this summer. I think last year was a learning experience for me on the mound. I was a pitcher all the way thru college, so I am familiar with the mound. Granted I wasn’t a knuckleball pitcher. I think the biggest adjustment I had to make last year was getting used to trying to throw the ball right down the middle. I’m not good enough yet to know exactly what the ball is going to do every time, so I had to just try and lay it over the plate and hope that the balls movement got hitters out.

13. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - March 12, 2007

What was it like being on those Road Warriors teams a few years ago?

14. qwackedup - March 12, 2007

Rob,
A loaded question or maybe several questions in one. Being one of the younger players in the league, what are your goals? I know you have used your Ducks’ career to establish yourself and get your name out to do lessons and establish a business but how far do you want your career to go? Is your pitching a novelty or is it something that you hope will become more serious? Where do you see yourself 10 years from now?

15. Rob Cafiero - March 12, 2007

Being a Road Warrior is a unique situation. I really enjoyed my time playing with them. The group of guys we had on those teams were a lot of fun. Being on the road every game takes a while to get used to but after you accept the situation, it almost becomes second nature. Playing for the Road Warriors make you appreciate how important that bottom of the 9th actually is, for pitchers as well as hitters. You have to be locked in to play 9 innings every night. It is hard not having fans cheer for you, for over 100 and some odd games.

16. Rob Cafiero - March 12, 2007

My goal is basically the same as every other player in this league, to play well enough to get picked up by an organization.

On the business end, everything’s been successful with the baseball academy, and I hope to keep expanding from there. As far as playing goes, everyone’s dream is to play in the big leagues.

Pitching isn’t really a novelty to me, it’s what I went to college to do. If I continue to do it, and I continue to do well with it, then hopefully it will take me to where I want to go. But it could be pitching or be in the field, I’m just hoping to get picked up by an organization and get a chance.

In ten years, hopefully I’m either still playing, managing the Storm Baseball Academy or coaching somewhere. Either in college or professionally.

17. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - March 12, 2007

Only a few more for you, Rob.

Do you expect to play more this year

18. qwackedup - March 12, 2007

What was the experience like, playing with a virtual Atlantic-League all-star team when you played with the Storm in the offseason and going to Florida this month?

19. Rob Cafiero - March 12, 2007

Playing time is something that I don’t worry about. It is out of my control and for me to expect anything wouldn’t be fair to myself or everyone around me. I just expect from myself that when I get the opportunities to play I can hopefully contribute to the success of our team.

20. Rob Cafiero - March 12, 2007

Playing for the Storm is a great experience. A couple other Atlantic League players and myself will get together and try to put together a team, it usually does always look like an Atlantic League All-Star team.

It’s good for getting players more exposure, we get to do things like play affiliated teams down in Spring Training and we’ve been to other countries like Italy as well. Guys have gotten jobs there because of trips like that, so it really benefits everyone.

21. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - March 12, 2007

Rob has a lesson coming up pretty soon, so let’s sneak in these last two.

Rob – After spending a few seasons totally on the road with the Road Warriors, what are some of the differences (besides maybe Mom’s cooking) of having now played a few seasons at home with the Ducks? Also has this change allowed you to do anything different during the off season?

22. Rob Cafiero - March 12, 2007

The biggest and most obvious difference is that I have had the opportunity to have a clubhouse where I can leave my stuff in a locker for more then three days, and have the opportunity to have fans cheer for us instead of against us every night. One of the nicest things about playing for the Ducks is that I am at home for 12 months out of the year sleeping in my own bed every night and never having to leave my family and friends. During the off season I manage the Storm Baseball Academy inc. on L.I., so I stay very busy with lessons, clinics, camps and just putting in a lot of hours at the academy making sure it runs smoothly.

23. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - March 12, 2007

Last one for you…

What are your favorite and least favorite ballparks in the league, and why…also 2nd question excluding your own what are your favorite and least favorite clubhouses in the league and why?

24. Rob Cafiero - March 12, 2007

My favorite ballpark in the league (excluding Citibank Park), would have to be Lancaster. Lancaster’s fans produce a great baseball atmosphere for us to play in. They are into every pitch of every game no matter what the score is. I know that they are not in the league anymore but like a lot of the other guys who answered this question Nashua was my least favorite. Not that I didn’t like playing there because I did, it just wasn’t my favorite.

It is tough for me to pick a best and worst clubhouse in the league. What makes a clubhouse good to me has a lot to do with the clubbie, and if there is anything in there to help pass time. Baseball has a lot of down time and if there is a TV or something in the clubhouse that helps. I hate to keep throwing Nashua under the bus but their clubhouse was brutal. They didn’t have enough lockers for all of us and it was about the size of a school bus (both in length and width).

25. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - March 12, 2007

Big thanks to Rob Cafiero for stopping by the atlanticleaguebaseball.com chat room. I know everyone’s looking forward to where exactly they’ll be seeing “The Punisher” on the field this season, but if you want to get lessons from him – make sure you head on over to the Storm Baseball Academy over on Long Island.

Thanks again for taking the time to do this, Rob. If you’ve got anything else you want to say, feel free to fire away.

26. Rob Cafiero - March 12, 2007

Mike thanks for having me. This was actually timed perfectly, my next lesson literally just walked in the door. Thank you to all the fans too for stopping by. I just want to thank all the fans for their support through the winter as well, and of course a special thanks to all the Ducks fans who are the best fans in the Atlantic League. I’ll see you guys on the field in a couple weeks.


Leave a Reply

