jump to navigation

January 12, 2007 January 13, 2007

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

With the Atlantic League season coming upon us fast — or slow to some — I figured I’d pose the question for our readers, if there was an Atlantic League Hall of Fame, who right now would be first-ballot entrants? Post your answer now.

Also, keep clicking on the Google banner above, it really does help!

UPDATE: Jeremy Booth has been kind enough to come on and provide some names for an AL Hall of Fame ballot, make sure you check out a player’s perspective in the comments.

Comments»

1. b-fish fan - January 13, 2007

mike guilfoyle/bluefish-best closer in atl.history.

kinnis pledger/1B/bluefish-one of the best power and rbi hitters in the atl in the first few years.won co-mvp in 98.

al sontag/P/bluefish-was atl most winning pitcher.in the first 5 years of the atl was dominate.

2. KenD - January 13, 2007

Peto Ramerez catcher Newark (it’s debatable)

3. BoosterBabe - January 13, 2007

Guilfoyle….maybe. I still have a hard time forgiving him for the last few pitches he threw in Nashua in 2003.

Sontag…maybe.

Pledger, I’d have to disagree with. He only spent, what, 3 seasons? In 99 he couldn’t get outta here fast enough. I might vote for Guilfoyle and Sontag, but I (myself) wouldn’t vote for Pledger.

I’d rather see Espada. He played in the league for 9 years. I think they should retire his number, too.

4. Diane - January 13, 2007

I think the one player that stands out the most for me is Justin Davies. He always gave 110 percent in every game he played. The fans in every ball park liked him because he gave them his time whenever they asked. There are others but I think he is a favorite.

5. fishyfan - January 13, 2007

I’d agree about Justin Davies.. and might add Mel Waring to the possible list.. and Rolo Avila. I’d second Angel Espada as well.. for longevity, fan appreciation and speed.. and in this last year amenibility to play infield or outfield

6. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - January 13, 2007

You’d have a near impossible time convincing me that Guilfoyle isn’t the closer on my 10-year team…

7. Jeremy Booth - January 13, 2007

Jeff Nettles, 3b, Somerset

Juan Thomas, 1b, Atlantic City

Will Pennyfeather, of, everyone

Oreste Marrero, DH/1b, Bridgeport/ Lancaster

Lincoln Mikkelson, Camden

Dwight Maness, OF, Camden

Rickey Henderson, of, Newark

Henry Rodriguez, OF/1b

8. Jeremy Booth - January 13, 2007

Ryan Radmanovich, of, Somerset

Guilfoyle for sure.

Espada for sure.

9. Jeremy Booth - January 13, 2007

Dario Delgado is creeping in there too.

Im having a hard time with a catcher though.

10. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - January 13, 2007

Good picks, Jeremy. I like the Delgado mention because he started his AL career with the Road Warriors, so that’s a nice story.

As for catcher, I’m having a rough time there myself. I like the Pito Ramirez nod, but Hector Kuilan’s been solid for a long time as well. I’ve done absolutely no statistical research on this piece whatsoever yet, but it looks like catcher will be the most difficult to select as of now.

Maybe Damian Sapp…

11. Jeremy Booth - January 13, 2007

Glenn Murray, DH, Nashua
DJ Boston, 1b, Nashua/ Bridgeport
Kevin Dougherty, P, Camden/AC
Emiliano Escandon, 2b, Somerset

12. Jeremy Booth - January 13, 2007

Jose Amado, 1b/3b, Bridgeport
Curtis Pride, OF, Nashua

13. Jeremy Booth - January 13, 2007

For Catcher, the entire Newark Bears seven from 2006. (just kidding)

14. BoosterBabe - January 14, 2007

I was thinking about Kuilan.
He would definitely be a sentimental favorite for me but I wasn’t sure his stats would back it up. I will have to research that, because he would certainly get my vote.

Rolo Avila…how many teams did he play with? At least two, right?

Amado…would be hard for me NOT to vote for. SOLID! Loved having him out there. Dunno though–did he spend enough time in the league to warrant HOF status?

What would be the minimum? 5 seasons? (that would be more than half).

15. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - January 14, 2007

Brad Strauss, Billy Hall, Michael Warner, Bud Harrelson, Joe Klein, Frank Boulton

A few other names that came up.

I debated throwing Victor Rodriguez’s name out there as well, but that does kind of bring up the minimum seasons thing.

I don’t think I’d put it as high as five, maybe somewhere in the vicinity of three.

-M-

16. b-fish fan - January 14, 2007

jose amado and kulian are not atl h.o.f players.they were never the best player on the team much less the dominate position player in the league.boosterbabe guilfoyle in a automatic h.o.f.the best closer in atl history and it aint even close.

17. Tom - January 14, 2007

Here are my choices:

Front Office / Managers:
Frank Boulton
Bud Harrelson
Joe Klein
Sparky Lyle
Butch Hobson

Players:
Justin Davies
Doug Jennigs
Kimera Bartee
Rod Henderson (1st No-Hitter)
Denny Harringer
Lincoln Mikkelson
Francisco Morales
Billy Hall
Oreste Marrero
Curtis Pride
Demetrius Heath
Angel Espada
Dwight Maness
Al Sontag
Mike Guilfoyle
DJ Boston

18. PatsFan - January 14, 2007

Off the top of my head here are my choices. I am sure there are others that I will come up with later.

Billy Hall
Kevin Dattola
Greg Blosser
DJ Boston
Emilio Escandon
Ryan Radmanovich
Justin Jensen
Will Pennyfeather

19. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - January 15, 2007

Well, that would certainly make for a nice Patriots HOF (outside of DJ)

You know, maybe the Patriots could have a “ring of honor” kind of like the Dallas Cowboys have. I know that probably 80-90% of the people at the games don’t really care about the baseball, but I’ll always make a push for those who got the league to where its at to be acknowledged whenever possible…

-M-

20. Brad Strauss - January 15, 2007

Catcher—Francisco Morales Hands Down!


Leave a Reply

