jump to navigation

November 21, 2006 – The Jeremy Booth Q&A November 22, 2006

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

At around 8 PM, we’re expecting to have Jeremy Booth in the house for an exclusive Q&A. Jeremy will answer the questions you’ve submitted over the past few days through our comments section.

The Q&A is over, and you can check out the transcript by reading the comments section. It was a pretty big success, as Booth was able to answer a lot of questions from fans and give them a player’s perspective on a lot of different topics.

STAY TUNED for future Q&A participants! – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

JL asks:

First of all, I want you to know how much enjoyment the Atlantic League and yourself brings to fans of baseball, who love the game and enjoy seeing you guys out there playing each night. Baseball is a great game.

Question: You are in every stadium and clubhouse throughout the year. If you could, what improvements would you make for the players, in each clubhouse? What amenities are lacking in Atlantic League clubhouses, compared with clubhouses in affiliated ball?

2. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

Thanks for the kind words and appreciation JL. As far as the clubhouses go, in affiliated ball, the conditions get better with each level you climb. Acrossthe board, Atlantic league clubhouses are equivalent to the AA level. There are some changes I would make. In Somerset, the players changing area in both clubhouses is too small, escpecially on the visitors side. In Newark, the home clubhouse my favorite in the league. There are several televisions, huge weight area, even a ping pong room which we use sometimes for soft toss drills. Surprisingly, Long Island doesnt have a tv in the visitors clubhouse. All these things are luxuries that are appreciated by all players only when you dont have them. However, in most of the stadiums (except Atlantic City) the clubhouses are much smaller and constricted on the visitors side.

3. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

Also, please tell us the best clubhouses and the worst clubhouses in the Atlantic League…

4. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

The best clubhouse in the Atlantic league… my personal favorite is the Home Clubhouse at Newark. The worst clubhouse is the Camden visitors clubhouse.

5. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

Is there a big difference in the level of play in the Can-Am League and what should people expect to see there?

6. Al Benjamin - November 22, 2006

Nashua was the worst on both sides when they were in the league hands down.

7. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

The difference between the Atlantic League and ALL the other independent leagues is huge. The fans of the Atlantic league are treated to a quality of play on par with AAA baseball. There’s an expression: If you can play (well) in the Atlantic League, you can play in the big leagues. The Can-Am league is a much younger league with much younger players and less polished talent.

8. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

As a player is there a certain league you try to sign in first or does it not matter?

9. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

As a player, you always try to secure the best opportunity to help you move back to an organization. The Atlantic league is the most respected, so it is usually the one players try to get into.

10. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

KW asks:

Outside of Somerset who do you feel the most talented catcher is in the Atlantic League?

11. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

One of the best defensive catchers I have ever seen was Fernando Lunar. In my opinion, Brad King (Long Island), Juan Pachot (Camden), and Hector Kuilan (B’port) were the best there last year.

12. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

Outside of Somerset.

13. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

Talent level aside, how do the Atlantic League and the Can-Am League compare from a competition standpoint?

14. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

They don’t. The players aren’t as polished, so the games take longer, they are played sloppier, etc. there are some good players who don’t belong there, but the league has gone to less expensive, less experienced players.

15. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

Another fellow JB asks:

1.You played in many different Independent leagues.
Which one is/was the best & the worst?
Your best/worst memory from each one?

16. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

Wow, good question. Give me a second to think.

17. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

The best league is the Atlantic league. The worst was definitely the Texas-Louisiana league. As far as memories go, Iv’e never finished the season on a team that won the championship so they are all personal.

Northern league: The first time I wore a professional uniform and was announced was pretty cool. It was in St. Paul, playing for the Saints (which was then the premier team in the premier league) and I was the starting catcher and youngest player in the league (20). Our centerfielder was J.D. Drew and when we were announced opening night I was second to last, he was last.

18. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

In Tri-City (Western), the bus broke down in Utah in 110 degree heat in August. That was real fun.

19. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

In Solano (Western), I hit a grand slam well over 400 feet that landed near the Airstrip behind the stadium. That was real cool.

20. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

In Camden (playing for Newark), I hit a homerun out of the stadium off Nick Stocks, and threw out Qunicy Foster, Elvis Pena, and Mel Stocker in the same week.
The worst memory would be having to make the decision to leave Somerset this year.

21. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

As far as the central league and Texas-Louisiana league, those leagues just generally, well, sucked.

22. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

Whenever you’re ready to tackle this one: 2. The decision to return to professional baseball each season must get more difficult as you get older. What factors go into your decision to come back for another year?

23. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

That is definitely a question that we struggle with. First, you have to ask yourself where your career is taking you and whether or not another season with the best possible scenarios will help you. You then ask yourself is it good for your family. I have to decide if its good for my fiancee and child to do this again. Third, you have to weigh the financial impact it has on you. In most cases, players lose money to go play minor league baseball. With each year, responsibilities grow and so do your financial necessities. Lasty, there comes a point in everyone’s life where you have to ask yourself if another year in AAA will get you to the Big leagues. Thats what all this is about, getting to the Big leagues.

24. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

With that said, do you have any set plans for 2007 yet?

25. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

My decision on next year is one I have discussed with Renee (my fiancee), my parents, my brother, my agent, and other close people. I have been offered positions in professional baseball as a coach and am considering taking them. Also, there are several organizations who have contacted me about giving me a look.

26. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

That said, it gets harder and harder to make that decision, because I feel that I have enough talent to play with the best. I just need that opportunity. The question is, will I get it.

27. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

3. I wonder how players manage to “make ends meet” living on a minor league ballplayers salary, especially those players with families and/or from out of the US. For example, you see players get released from a team in the Northeast and get picked up by a team in the Midwest or Southwest. I could only imagine the trials and tribulations of these moves. Who pays for their travel? Where do they stay? Could you share some of your personal experiences or those of your former teammates?

28. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

Deleted the previous question just so everything matches up. Only two or three more questions after this…

29. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

Most times, the team you are playing for pays for travel to and from their city. As far as finances, you save money in the off-season so you can make ends meet in the season. You try to keep expenses low and do the best you can. Most times, you stay with a host family or in a hotel the whole time. You try not to miss your family too much but any player who says they dont miss home is lying. You just try to go out there and do what youve wanted to do since you were a little boy, play baseball. I have walked through fire for this game, though and with the love and support of my family I have found a way to stay in it.

30. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

AD asks:

Comments on the newer clubhouses vs. the older ones…

31. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

The newer clubhouses usually have more room and are beeter equipped for the demands of todays player. I like Lancasters’ because everything connects. But in all honesty, most of the clubhouses in the ATL are new because they are newer stadiums. I like Bridgeport, I like Newark, I like Atlantic City. Nashua sucked though.

32. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

What kind of stuff is on the pregame meal table at Lancaster? (MA: Hopefully you can answer that specifically, but I guess to make it a bit more general as a follow-up, what kind of pre-game and post-game meals are provided for you? I ask because I was rather surprised by what was awaiting me in the visiting clubhouse during my Road Warriors “tryout”)

33. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

Usually before the game its pretty standard stuff; PB&J, pretzels, granola bars, chips, gatorade, sodas, water, cold cuts, etc. After the games, Lancaster (I believe) has their post game spreads catered by restaurants like most other teams.

34. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

Can you tell us any stories about different pregame rituals you might have or any certain superstitions?

35. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

I have to get dressed and undressed the sanme way every game. First i arrive, then I get undressed bottom up. Then I get dressed top down, left side before right. I take BP in the same clothes each day, which I put on and take off the same way each time. I put on my game day uniform with nothing leftover from BP the same way each time. Before the game I must have hit short toss, done one hand hitting drills, and hit off the tee. I must have taken gorund balls at first base, done some plyometric drills and run a few poles. I must long toss, then I’m out for the game at 6:15. The most unique thing I do is in batter’s box during an at-bat. I have done the same thing every at-bat since I was 10.

36. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

I guess as a good reporter, I should ask you what it is you do in the batters box during your at-bats. Kind of a Nomar Garciaparra type thing, or something more personal, or…

37. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

During an at-bat, I must wipe the batter’s box clean from the previous hitter, dig my back foot in, tap both sides of the plate, step out, take a swing, get back in back foot first, then squeeze the bat in my hands, exhale, and tap the plate again, take a half swing, and then I’m ready.

38. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

And i forgot to mention i religiously tug on my uniform, helmet, fix my batting gloves, etc. After a foul ball I must step out and readjust my gloves. After a ball, I just stay in with one foot.

39. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

Wow. That actually puts Nomar to shame. Well, that’s the last question. I just want to take the time to thank Mr. Booth on behalf of myself and all the readers of the site for taking the time out of his busy schedule to give everyone the player’s perspective on things. Jeremy, if you’ve got anything else you want to say to the fans or anything you’d like to expand on or address, feel free to say whatever you’d like.

40. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

I appreciate the interest and the questions tonight from all who asked one. Sometimes, fans make the difference between not only where a player plays, but whether or not he continues to play. If anyone has more questions, I’ll stay on and answer them.

41. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - November 22, 2006

As one of the fans mentioned in one of the e-mailed series of questions, Jeremy is a class act, and I think he showed that tonight. Hopefully he gained a few more fans by answering some of your questions tonight.

If any other AL players, managers, coaches or front office members would be interested in doing a Q&A on atlanticleaguebaseball.com, don’t hesitate to contact me at mashmore@patriotsbaseball.com and I’ll set you up. I’ll even do one if you guys want; I think it’s important to get everyone’s perspective on things, from the media to the front office and even the players.

But again, big thanks to Jeremy for doing this, and hopefully everyone enjoyed checking it out.

-M-

42. bigdog32 - November 22, 2006

I have a question for Mr. Booth. How does feel to be back east when all of your family and friends are on the west coast?

43. Sumosid - November 22, 2006

Jeremy & Mike; Thanks for taking the time to do put this together.
I really enjoyed it. Helps the this baseball starved fan thru the long cold winter!

44. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

Good question. Although I still consider Los Angeles home, I had to relocate for a couple of reasons. One of the biggest reasons is that due to the amount I travel, it was easier (at the time) for me to relocate here. Plane tickets don’t work in the off-season, and its what was best for us. In addition, it became tougher and tougher to chase my dream in LA. I miss my family intensely though, and look forward to returning home soon.

45. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

By us I mean Renee and Nicholas.

46. Jeremy Booth - November 22, 2006

Guys I had a lot of fun and really enjoyed it. i look forward to seeing all of you soon. Take care and God bless.

JB

47. BrickCityBruins - November 22, 2006

Thanks Mike and Jeremy. This was really cool. It’s so tough trying to get through the winter without baseball, without OUR Atlantic League baseball. This was really nice. Good job.

48. Amy - November 22, 2006

Mike and Jeremy…that was pretty neat to have you answer these questions and take time out to do this…alot of interesting stuff there! Thanks guys. good luck to you Jeremy!

49. Chuckerd58 - November 22, 2006

Excellent q&a with Jeremy Booth. Learned some cool off field stuff and also makes you realize how hard it is to juggle family and baseball. Here’s hoping if Jeremy isn’t playing afiliated ball,he’ll be back in the A.L. Hopefully other’s in the A.L. will partake in aother q%a.

50. ALFan1 - November 22, 2006

Big thanks to Jeremy and Mike for doing the Q&A tonight. I have seen jeremy play multiple times and I think he was one of the best catchers in the league last year. I felt the bears made a horrible decision to trade him last season. I wish him best of luck in the future and hope to see him in the AL again.


Leave a Reply

