jump to navigation

September 29, 2006 September 29, 2006

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Postseason Awards Announced: The Atlantic League has announced their 2006 award winners and postseason All-Star team.

Player of the Year – Lincoln Mikkelsen
Pitcher of the Year – Lincoln Mikkelsen
Manag…

Wait.

Lincoln Mikkelsen won both awards? Denny Harriger gets nothing? Really?

Moving on…

Manager of the Year – Dave LaPoint
GM of the Year – Joe Pinto
Groundskeeper of the Year – Ray Cipperly

ALL-STAR TEAM

C: John Pachot
1B: Mike Huggins
2B: Steve Hine
SS: Raul Marval
3B: Jeff Nettles
OF: Ryan Radmanovich
OF: Reggie Taylor
OF: Mel Stocker
OF: Denny Abreu
DH: Bucky Jacobsen
UTIL: Joe Jianetti
SP: Lincoln Mikkelsen
SP: Denny Harriger
RP: Chris Fussell

Not that anyone cares other than myself, but four outfield spots is absurd. Last time I checked when I was scoring a game, there was no 10th spot on the field.

Playoff Predictions: Lancaster and Bridgeport kick off their five game series tonight. I’m taking Bridgeport in four, based on their starting rotation. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. Anonymous - September 29, 2006

I don’t understand the thinking behind giving Lincoln both awards. He and Denny went head to head in the playoff game and the Barnstormers won. Denny has broken the record for most wins with 17. It seems silly to me.

2. sharkgirltoo - September 30, 2006

Both of these pitchers had a tremendous year. I know Harriger had the most wins and was outstanding but look at what Mikkelson did..Led the league in complete games, ERA < 2.0 (1.85),
pitched a no-hitter, and was 2nd in strikeouts. Wonder how close the vote was for the pitcher and player of the year awards.
Glad to see some of the Riversharks on the list too.

3. Chuckerd58 - September 30, 2006

Maybe the ATL. is thinking of having a snowflake league softball team with having 4 outfieldes on their All-Star team.Seriously,im very happy to see Mike Huggins named First team at first base.

4. Chuckerd58 - September 30, 2006

I just heard on the Barnstormers radio cast that there was a skunk loose in the outfield tonight.How is the crowd tonight,hopefully there is a good one tonight.

5. SharkGirl - September 30, 2006

sharkgirltoo…I’m with you on bluefish fan’s behavior-enough is enough-he should take time to smell the roses because they are in Bridgeport right now! Congrats to the Bluefish-I am rooting for you. It would be nice for Angel to go out with the big one! He is very excited about the playoffs and had such enthusiasm when I spoke with him after they clinched their playoff berth. Such hard work, devotion & determination deserves a championship ring!
Amy, yes many of our players play winter ball. Quincy Foster is one of them. Tony Rodriguez (formerly of B’port & Camden) also plays winter ball just to name a couple. There are several websites (most are in Spanish) that you can go to and keep an eye on our guys. For sake of space I only put 3 here. For the most part, they play in the same league(s) and wind up playing with some of their own teammates or against their own teammates or other AL players. The bottom right of the 3rd link lists all the teams in the Mexican, Dominican, Venezuelan & Puerto Rican leagues & their respective team links. Here you will find the rosters of all the winter ball teams that most of our guys play in.
Here are the links:

http://www.baseball.ch/

http://www.latinosports.com/artman/publish/

http://mlb.mlb.com/NASApp/mlb/mlb/events/mlb_winterleagues_2004.jsp

http://www.baseballhalloffame.org/education/dictionary/english_spanish/F.htm

The last link is a baseball dictionary for those of us who don’t speak Spanish! It comes in handy. I keep in touch with some of the players in the off-season so I get the English translation of what’s going on…thankfully! Hope this helps anyone who like to follow this great bunch of guys in the winter!

B’port in 3…can you say SWEEP???
(Alright, just checked the score…so I’m gonna have to go with B’port in 4!!!)
Go Fish!!!

6. Chuckerd58 - September 30, 2006

Hi sharkgirl,What happened to Rich Barrett this season. I know he killed the Ducks last season,and he stole a ton of bases.Did he get hurt and not play at 100%,or did he just lose confidence. Also,one of my all-time favorite players,Brad Strauss,do you think he will be back playing next season,or will he retire and stay on as hitting coach. Hope to make it down to a game at Campbell’s field next year. From the pictures i’ve seen and what i hear people say,it seems like a pretty cool park to watch a game.

7. Anonymous - September 30, 2006

crowd was awful and alot of drunks,9:15 the temp was 46 degrees,skunk comes onto the the field to match the bluefish performance delays the game,some idiot sneaks behind the cf fence and throws over to 2 real bluefish.then on hear sat night at the arena next door the islanders are playing the devils in a hockey exhibition game.they expect traffic and parking delays that is why the fish are playing at 6.nhl game at 7.hope they dont end at the same time.what a putrid game to watch tonight.

b-fish fan

8. Anonymous - September 30, 2006

my guess on tonight attn.maybe 1200.i mean the tickets for any seat was $5.a disgrace.

b-fish fan

9. fishyfan - September 30, 2006

game was awful tonight (from a Fish fan point of view).. perhaps a wake up call saying the team isn’t invincible.. I will still take Fish in 4.. skunk hadn’t appeared for several years.. glad those who went to shoo him off didn’t get sprayed.. for all those coming tomorrow night bring your longjohns, gloves, blankets etc. it was 45 degrees for much of the game..
GO FISH.. regroup and come in strong tomorrow!

10. SharkGirl - September 30, 2006

Hi chuckerd58, Richie B. had a break-out year last year. It was an amazing thing to watch-we all got so much out of it. But alas, it was just a “one hit wonder” so to speak. I don’t believe he could ever be as great as he was last season. He tries very hard though, too hard sometimes. Love the guy-felt real bad for him this year. And Brad…what can I say about Brad? He is my daughter’s favorite player & my family is very fond of him. I do believe he will be back as a player and a coach. I don’t think he will play much but he will be available if need be. He also works in the front office in the off-season so I think “Mr. Shark” will be around for awhile, I’m happy to say. Also, I am proud to say Campbell’s Field is a beautiful place to take in a game. The view of the Ben Franklin Bridge just outside the outfield wall is a great site to see! The fireworks only add to the beauty of it all. It is my getaway…I could sit there every home game, win or lose, and I just enjoy being there. Of course, watching the Sharks win can’t hurt…lol! We would love to have you & you’ll have to let me know when you are going to join us for baseball on the waterfront. My family & I sit in Sect. 116. See you in ’07! Go Fish!!!

11. Anonymous - September 30, 2006

Thanks for the info sharkgirl. It does make sense what u said about Barrett,maybe next year if he comes back will be better. Hope your right about Strauss also. See you next year.

12. Chuckerd58 - September 30, 2006

Thanks for the info sharkgirl.

13. BoosterBabe - September 30, 2006

ow. I’m not even going to explain myself again because anyone with half a brain understands the difference between feeling frustrated because stupid league politics was getting in the way of a good game of baseball and “thinking my team will lose”. I never thought they wouldn’t play well enough to win, I was afraid that the deck would get stacked so they COULDN’T win no matter how well they played. That was what frustrated me and that’s what upset me so. Whatever, I would never expect you to understand this, based on the neanderthal behavior you’ve exhibited on this blog.

I would really like you to show your face to me, b-fish fan. You obviously are familiar with the Booster Table, you apparently know what the Club does. So tomorrow night, come up to me, say hello and let me know who you are. I don’t hide behind the anonymity of the internet. I sit in Section 13, right behind the dugout near 1st base.

I dare you to call me a traitor to my face. But I don’t think you’re man enough to do it. It’s very easy to talk trash to someone you know but who doesn’t know you. It’s very easy to hide behind an anonymous screen-name. It’s cowardly. But it’s easy.

And I have a feeling you’re as yellow as they come.

14. sharkgirltoo - September 30, 2006

Thanks sharkgirl for posting the winter ball links. I’m definitely going to check them out.
Re: Richie Barrett…was hard to see him struggle this year especially the second half of the season. He couldn’t seem to get out of that slump (although I see he did go 4 for 5 in the last game). I was surprised to see him not steal as much this year, ? manager’s decision; also, he wasn’t on base as much. Definitely a nice guy..my daughter’s favorite. He was always kind enough to stop by and say hello to us whenever he saw us at the game. Hopefully he’ll be back next year, which will be his fourth, and get back on track.
sharkgirl..are these your season seats? I’ll come down and say hi when the 2007 season begins.
b-fish fan..here’s your chance to start over and make peace with boosterbabe..you know where to find her.
The Barnstormers off to get a great start but wouldn’t have expected such a blowout. Would like to see a closer, more exciting game. I think the Barnstormers in 5.

15. SharkGirl - October 1, 2006

Hi sharkgirltoo…I think I may know you now. Did I see you in A.C. on the concourse during a thunderboomer? Hubby & daughter in tow-she’s about 8ish? If not, then we will have to meet in ’07! We sit in 116 but are only partial season ticket holders-we wind up making more games than our plan calls for tho’. If you were present at the Fri. 9/8 game when the C-Post had it’s Doorstep Delivery contest finals-then you saw me. I was the one who won the finals & a trip to Disney World!
Also, I agree with you about B’fish fan & BoosterBabe. I have met her and she is a true & devoted fan with feelings like all of us. She is a really nice lady & I had a great time with her & her fellow fans when they came to Camden. Give her (& all of us) a break B’fish fan-enough is enough. Bury the hatchet(s) {re: Amy} and let’s all be friends! {{Hugs & Kisses all}}
Go Bluefish!!

16. SharkGirl - October 1, 2006

Hi sharkgirltoo…You are welcome for the links. I think I may know you now. Did I see you in A.C. on the concourse during a thunderboomer? Hubby & daughter in tow-she’s about 8ish? If not, then we will have to meet in ’07! We sit in 116 but are only partial season ticket holders-we wind up making more games than our plan calls for tho’. If you were present at the Fri. 9/8 game when the C-Post had it’s Doorstep Delivery contest finals-then you saw me. I was the one who won the finals & a trip to Disney World!
Also, I agree with you about B’fish fan & BoosterBabe. I have met her and she is a true & devoted fan with feelings like all of us. She is a really nice lady & I had a great time with her & her fellow fans when they came to Camden. Give her (& all of us) a break B’fish fan-enough is enough. Bury the hatchet(s) {re: Amy} and let’s all be friends! {{Hugs & Kisses all}}
Go Bluefish!!

17. SharkGirl - October 1, 2006

Sorry for the double post–it didn’t appear for more than a half hr. so I thought it didn’t take. Wild game going on in B’Port right now! Hutchins just dropped the ball & the B’Stormer’s took the lead back in the 12th!
Go Fish!!!!!!!

18. BoosterBabe - October 1, 2006

I’m heartbroken!!!! What a game! To come back from 8-0 and tie it, only to lose on an error in the 12th–words can’t express all the different emotions I’m feeling right now.

I spoke to Matt Beech (Who pitched fantastically tonight!) after the game and I put my head on his chest (cuz I couldn’t reach his shoulder!!!) and told him I was ready to cry and he said (in his Texan drawl that absolutely destroys me!!!) “Darlin….it’s 3 out of 5, not 2 out of 5. We’re not over yet!” And I really needed to hear that– it gave me hope. He also said “We just wanted it to go 5 games so we get paid for a couple more days!” It brought a smile to my face when he said that because it told me they DO want to win. And he was carrying his duffel bag from the Booster Club! When I heard they scarfed down every brownie and every chocolate chip bar that I had made today and sent back to the clubhouse, and one of the coaches never actually got any…well, I felt bad for the particular coach but that also brought a smile to my face. They love my baking and I love baking for them!

So, I have mixed feelings tonight. I’m incredibly sad that they go into this series 2 games down. But I’ve also seen this before…2 years ago. Remember I’m also a Red Sox fan. So if the Sox can come back against the Yankees IN Yucky Stadium….then I think the Bluefish can burn down the Barnstormers in their house the next couple of days! I asked Jimmy Journell, who also pitched incredibly tonight, and I told him so, too!–if you Fry the Ducks and Skin the Bears….what do you do the Barnstormers? And his answer was “burn them down!” so guys…BURN DOWN THE BARNSTORMERS!

I stayed in the parking lot until most of them left, and I had originally planned to see the bus drive off, but after hugging Espada and Kuilan goodbye, probably forever, as they are both retiring when this season is over…I realized I was near tears for real and I just couldn’t bring myself to watch them pull out of that parking lot. That would have done me in for sure.

It was great meeting and hanging out with Amy, Steve and the rest of the Barnstormers Fans out in Left Field tonight. Great people and hey, congrats on your team playing good baseball the last 2 nights.

This blog has been a lot of fun, with one notable exception. 🙂 I got to meet a handful of TERRIFIC Atlantic League fans from LI, Camden, AC (RIP Surf) and of course, Lancaster. I got paged in Newark, because of this blog… lots of good things this summer.

Does Lancaster webcast the games? THat’s going to be my lifeline the next few days.

GO BLUEFISH!!!!


Leave a Reply

