jump to navigation

September 1, 2006 September 1, 2006

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Can-Am Kool-Aid: I covered my first ever Can-Am League game last night, taking in a Sussex Skyhawks game. The Skyhawks took on the New Haven County Cutters, and there were some Atlantic Leaguers scattered throughout both teams.

I spoke to Jeremy Booth extensively before the game, as well as D.J. Boston and Sandy DeLeon afterwards.

Booth – Anywhere you’ve been, you keep up with what’s going on. Although I only played for five games in Somerset — I was on the DL for two and a half weeks — I really enjoyed it there. It’s a great clubhouse, things just didn’t come together they way they could have.

I’d go (back). I like Sparky, I thought Sparky was honest. But when they got me, I don’t think Sparky knew how to use me.

Boston – After this, I’m done, this is my last year. After sitting back and analyzing what’s going on, for me personally, this is good.

No chance (of coming back to the AL), as of right now. Probably not, 99.9 percent (that he wouldn’t come back)

DeLeon – After the Atlantic League, I went to the Golden Baseball League, I was with Fullerton. Things didn’t work out too good over there, so my agent brought me back. Then I got a job here in the Can-Am.

If one of the (Atlantic League) teams want me, I’d go play. I’d give it my all over there, for whatever team.

As for my Can-Am League experience…well, it’s not worth my time to go into it.

Other Atlantic Leaguers there were Abraham Ayala, Orlando Encarnacion, Brad Whitworth, Derrick Gibson and Pedro Sierra.

Gibson didn’t want to talk after the game.

Whitworth

Gibson

Sierra

Patriots Moves: I spoke to Adam Gladstone of Baseball And Sports Associates last night, and the impression I got was that the team won’t be making any moves until the return of Ryan Radmanovich and Kevin Nicholson. I asked him when I should be expecting some moves, throwing out a timeframe of a week or two, and he said “hopefully sooner than that,” so it appears they’re trying to wait for the return of their Canadian core.

Surf Stuff: The team cut Trevor Marcotte and Jeff Swayze yesterday. Also, Clyde Williams is on the verge of making history. 19 doubles, 18 homers and 20 steals. No Surf player has EVER done 20-20-20 in the same year. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. SharkGirl - September 1, 2006

Thanks for the update on DJ Boston. I was disappointed when he was not playing in the AL this season & am sorry to see his career come to an end. He’s a nice guy & I loved watching him play. He has to do what’s best for him but in doing so leaves a huge void in baseball!

2. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - September 1, 2006

Boston told me that he wanted to get into coaching, and also might be attending scout school later on this month.

As for Booth, Sussex will release him after the last game of the year for the specific purpose of making him available for the end of the Atlantic League season.

DeLeon also expressed interest in an AL return.

-M-

3. quackers - September 1, 2006

What did you think about the level of baseball being played at the game? How does it compare to watching an Atlantic League game?
Always good to see and here about some ex-Ducks (Whitworth, Gibson and all-around good guy DeLeon).

4. Anonymous - September 1, 2006

FRIDAY’S LANCASTER/NEWARK GAME POSTPONED
Barnstormers, Bears to Play Doubleheader Saturday

LANCASTER, Pa.—The Atlantic League game between the Lancaster Barnstormers and the Newark Bears scheduled for Friday, Sept. 1 has been postponed due to rain, officials from both teams announced today.

The game will be made up as part of a doubleheader on Saturday, Sept. 2, beginning at 5:35 p.m. The Barnstormers and Bears will play two seven-inning games. Clipper Magazine Stadium gates will open at 4:30 p.m., and a fireworks display is scheduled to follow the second game.

Fans holding tickets to Friday’s scheduled game may exchange them at the box office for tickets to Saturday’s doubleheader or for any other remaining game in 2006, based on availability.

Friday’s Ladies Night events will be rescheduled. The date and time have not been determined.

Tickets for all other remaining games during the 2006 regular season and the Atlantic League playoffs are available by calling 717-509-3933 or online at http://www.lancasterbarnstormers.com.

5. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - September 1, 2006

It is, and the players will tell you the same thing, far below what you’ll find in the Atlantic League.

In fact, one told me it was comparable to rookie ball.

It’s hard for me to make a judgement on a league as a whole after watching just one game, but I wasn’t really impressed. There was some spotty defense and some interesting managerial decisions.

My experience there, as a whole, was not good, but I’m probably not going to elaborate on that.

There will always be things to bitch about in the Atlantic League…just as there will be things to bitch about in the big leagues, but the Atlantic League appears to have much higher standards than the Can-Am League.

With that said, there are good players in the Can-Am. D.J. Boston looked really good last night, at least at the plate.

-M-

6. Chuckerd58 - September 2, 2006

Chalk one up for Hector Almonte against his brother Ehrich in fridays nights Pats-Ducks game. Hector got Ehrich to pop out aftergiving him a little chin music earlier in the at bat. Chris King said they had some words,probably some brotherly trash talk.

7. Chuckerd58 - September 2, 2006

Larry Barnes just scored on a throwin error on Ducks catcher Brad King after stealing third base to give the Pats a 3-2 lead in the eight inning.

8. Chuckerd58 - September 2, 2006

The stolen base and throwing error to give tge Pats the lead happened in the top of the 10th inning.Rob Marquez is on to close it out for Somerset in a light rain.

9. Chuckerd58 - September 2, 2006

It’s all over on Long Island. Rob Marquez pitched a perfect 10th for the Pats 3-2 victory.

10. BoosterBabe - September 2, 2006

Had the pleasure of meeting #1SurfFan and his family tonight at Harbor Yard. It was a little chilly—the game got downright surreal when Norm Hutchins came in to pitch in the 11th inning–and we lost 5-4 in 12 innings. But what fun!!!!

It’s always great to meet other Atlantic League fans. That’s what I love about baseball. You take 2 people who’ve never met, who live 150 miles apart, put them together in a stadium…and they can talk for hours about the one thing they have in common: baseball. We were sitting together near the visitors’ dugout and the Head Groundskeeper came by, there was #1SurfFan in his “Fan Club” shirt, I was there next to him in my warm up jacket from 1998….and the groundskeeper asked if we were going to have “booster club wars”? It made me laugh. There was one point–9 inning, it looked like a double-play to everyone but the umpire, apparently–he made everyone come back on the field and play the last out– where #1 called me from across the stadium to ask what had just happend. It was a so funny sitting there, on the phone with him, waving from across the field!

Weather man says tomorrow will be a washout. Too bad, but we’ll get ’em Sunday!

Oh, and I noticed Hodges wasn’t in the dugout, hanging on the railing like he always does every game he doesn’t pitch. So I asked my front office friend–he had some family business and went home for a few days. I knew there had to be a good reason for him to have missed his turn to start. Meanwhile, our pitching staff is seriously hurting. Lord only knows who’s going tomorrow, if they play at all.

11. SumoSid - September 2, 2006

Another interesting blog…

I took in Wednesday Nite’s Jackals/Pride doubleheader in Montclair Wednesday nite. The Can-Am League, IMHO, is far below the AL in more then just talent. They obviously have tighter budget constraints then the AL and you could tell.

A fellow autograph collector asked a former AL slugger with the Pride how the Can-Am League is compared to the AL and he told him “it sucks”.

I am surprised how former Major League players end up in the Can-Am League and not in the Atlantic or Northern leagues.

BTW: How is Derrick Gibson, I get the impression that he is not very approachable?

12. number1surffan John - September 2, 2006

well Boosterbabe – you beat me to the pc. Thank you very much for your gracious hospitality including the p.a. announcement.

Surreal is an excellent word for tonights game. Easily could have gone either way – you had a right fielder pitching, and we had 3 guys who’ve been in the Atlantic League for less than a week take 6 innings between them.

Of the 4 stadiums my family and i have attended this season, I definitely recomment Bridgeport for pre-teen children. My boys were tuckered out early.

Sure does seem like tomorrow will be “ducky” weather (pun intended). Perhaps a double header for Sunday? I hope they put the tarps out tonight.

13. number1surffan John - September 3, 2006

They didn’t (apparently) read this. According to Surf folk who went to Harbor Yard to work out on Sat (game was called already), they haven’t bothered to tarp any of the field. It may very well rain throughout Sun, but in the event it stops shouldn’t they have at least TRied to have things ready???


Leave a Reply

