jump to navigation

August 25, 2006 August 25, 2006

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Nettles Done, Team Searching For Replacement: Somerset Patriots 3B Jeff Nettles appears to be out for the season after breaking his thumb. Nettles, a clear candidate for AL MVP, was struck on the thumb by a pitch. The team is talking to a few players, including some familiar AL faces.

Ducks Sign Big Leaguer: The Long Island Ducks signed P David Manning to a contract today. Manning pitched for the Brewers in 2003, appearing in two games.

Lancaster Making Moves: The Lancaster Barnstormers have signed P John Boker to a contract, a few days after agreeing to terms with P Todd Pennington. Boker most recently pitched in the GBL, and Pennington is a veteran of the Indians system. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. BoosterBabe - August 26, 2006

The Surf Fans who were asking about coming to Bpt for Labor Day weekend……

You coming or what??? 🙂

Let me know….I’ll want to say hello, anyway. Maybe we can get together…..

2. Tom from Long Island - August 26, 2006

Roadwarriorfan, in 2004 Orlando Cruz returned to the Road Warriors in August. He wore #6 again. No one else wore #6 between the time he left in May and when he returned in August (at least not the times that they came to Long Island in June and July). Sorry it took a couple of days to dig the info out for you.

3. Chuckerd58 - August 27, 2006

I just printed up the Jim Caple stories of his time with Leigh Valley. Can’t wait to dig into it later. I did get a kick out of seeing the picture of the players making their pb&j sandwiches,just like Mike did in his story on the Warriors. Any way,weather permiting,i hope to make it up to Bridgeport on sunday to root on the Warriors.

4. Sumosid - August 27, 2006

Thanks for letting us know about the B-Diamonds stories. A lot of familar names to Atlantic League fans. I glad those guys were able to keep their sense of humor.

5. Anonymous - August 27, 2006

Don McCormack was ejected from tonights Duck/Surf game in AC for arguing with home plate umpire Sean Schofield. That same inning, Tim Cain was also ejected and then proceeded to bump Schofield and had to be physically restrained. He is sure to face further disciplinary action for his actions.

6. Roadwarriorfan - August 27, 2006

Thanks for correcting me Tom. I thought that was the case but I wasn’t positive about him returning. Glad to see everyone enjoying the Black Diamond stories.

7. Chuckerd58 - August 27, 2006

I read the story on the Black Diamonds and it was great,especially the piece on the heated exchange between B-Diamonds Chris Von Rossum and Ducks manager Don McCormack.Very interesting take on baseball’s unwritten rules.

8. qwackedup - August 27, 2006

Ducks and Surf rained out today, doubleheader Monday night at 5 p.m., pair of seven-inning games.

9. Chuckerd58 - August 27, 2006

Also the Warrior-Fish game was rained out. I should have known,i drove to Bridgeport only to find out the game was called,damm,my bad,i though maybe the rain whould hold off for awhile,well,you live and learn.

10. Anonymous - August 27, 2006

For those that have talked about if the Road Warriors are still selling jerseys, the answer is yes. They only have size XL. The numbers that they have left are 7, 8, 10, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 24, and 25. If you would like one e-mail Joseph Machion at jmachion@atlanticleague.com

11. BoosterBabe - August 28, 2006

Oh wow….sorry you schlepped all the way to Bpt in the rain, Chuckerd.

I actually (for the first time all season) made an executive decision and called the Booster member who was working the table with me today at 11am and said “don’t bother…”.
Usually, we show up, and if the game is not called ahead of time, we might make $5-10. It’s not worth it. I went to the grocery store instead, which I really needed to do! I turned around from from the cheese aisle and there, staring at me, calling out to me “BUY ME! BUY ME!” was the DVD of “Bull Durham” for $10! They also had “Field of Dreams” and “8 Men Out”, as well as “Pride of the Yankees” (fat chance of me every buying THAT!), and “A League of Their Own”. That last one is my VERY favorite baseball movie…but I didn’t feel like crying today. I start getting “ferklempt” with the opening credits!!! So I got “Bull Durham” and spent this rainy afternoon curled up on the couch under a blankie with my cat, watching Susan Sarandon get her toenails painted by Kevin Costner. Oh yeah, there was a lot of baseball in it, too! What I call the Costner Baseball Trilogy (“Bull Durham”, “Field of Dreams” and “For Love of the Game”) are quite possibly the 3 greatest date movies of all time. Enough romance to keep the women interested, but enough baseball to keep them from being “chick flicks”! And for a chick like me, absolutely PERFECT!

Anyway the website says “make up date to be determined”. Which is weird. I guess tomorrow’s weather forecast is for more of the same, so they are not counting on being able to make it up then. Thing is, this was the RW last visit to Bridgeport this season. So who knows what will happen. I guess if it turns out not to matter, they won’t bother making it up?

Being a Red Sox fan and a Bluefish fan, I’ve a feeling my only hopes for post-season action is gonna be in Bridgeport, rather than Boston. 😦

It’s a Lonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnng winter when baseball season ends in September. That’s all I can say!
Maybe I’ll go back and pick up “Field of Dreams” and “A League of Their Own”. I Might need them to keep me company from October until April.

(Come On Sox! Don’t make me have to drag out the baseball movies until November!!!)

12. Chuckerd58 - August 28, 2006

You could also try Major league 1,also,for a sox fan Fever Pitch.

13. Roadwarriorfan - August 28, 2006

atlanticleague.com says that the Road Warrior at Bridgeport game is a “cancelled game”. That seems weird to me. The Road Warriors did not have a scheduled off day today because they’re in Lancaster.

14. BoosterBabe - August 28, 2006

Well, Fever Pitch was awesome and I was going to add that one to my list but it seemed too Obvious for me to say it as a Sox fan! Hahahah I just saw Major League 1 on cable tv either Friday or Sat night. I think it was TBS.

CT Post said today that there was a scheduled make up date for yesterday’s game but it likely will only be played if it means anything. Meanwhile, I had said Sat night to my friend that I thought the RW were the only team we had a losing record to and today’s CT Post confirmed my suspicion.

15. number1surffan John - August 28, 2006

Boosterbabe – yep, we are scheduled Fri-Sun (maybe – Mon).

John


Leave a Reply

