jump to navigation

August 19, 2006 August 19, 2006

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Averette Out In Somerset: According to Ryan Dunleavy of The Courier News, the Somerset Patriots have lost P Robert Averette. Averette, 5-1 at the time of his departure, was emerging as the staff ace with the recent struggles of Keith Ramsey and Ben Crockett. Averette asked for and received his release, a release he requested for family reasons.

Evert Speaks: I caught up with Barnstormer for a day P Brett Evert, now pitching for the Double-A Portland Sea Dogs. Evert struck out five Thunder batters over 2.2 innings of work last night, and told me he still thinks he’s got a few tricks up his sleeve.

Evert, who only made one appearance for the Barnstormers before being signed by the Red Sox, told me that the plan all along was for him to make a spot start and then go down to Portland. He said although he was in a good situation, he was glad to get out of there because they didn’t pay very well…although he did note he was set to make over $2,000 a month.

Marcotte To Surf: According to tonight’s box score, the Atlantic City Surf have signed P Trevor Marcotte to a contract. This makes four different indy ball leagues in four years for the Vermont native. He’s pitched in the Can-Am, Central and Northern Leagues as well, never playing a day of affiliated ball.

Ramsey. Tomorrow. Be There: Don’t forget that Somerset Patriots P Keith Ramsey will not only be starting the game tomorrow (5:05 PM) but he’ll also be performing in a post-game concert. While I’ve never seen him sing personally, I’m told he’s exceptional. I expect this will be the coolest day of my season, make it the coolest day of yours by heading on down to Commerce Bank Ballpark tomorrow night. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. BoosterBabe - August 20, 2006

Does anyone know how I can get a list of the Road Warriors Roster WITH their birthdays?
I’m really only interested in any who might be having a birthday in August.

Doesn’t Sandy Aracena’s wife read and post here? Can you possibly help me with this?

I do not want to divulge why I need this info here (quite yet) but if you email me, I will tell you….I promise it’s a good reason!!!! 🙂

Thanks in advance!
Sheryl (boosterclub@optonline.net)

2. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - August 20, 2006

As you know, the roster that the league provides only lists their ages, not their dates of birth.

You’d probably have to do it manually…I don’t think an easy way exists.

-M-

3. BoosterBabe - August 20, 2006

Yeah…I found that out. That’s why I’m hoping one of the wives/girlfriends of one of the guys can help me out.
That’s a LOT of googling if I have to do it manually!

Thanks

4. Anonymous - August 20, 2006

Robert Averette left the Patriots because of money and contract issues. The Patriots don’t have the nicest field for nothing; spend money where it is seen.

5. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - August 20, 2006

Shoot me an e-mail (mashmore@patriotsbaseball.com) if you want and let me know what you need. I’m sure I can come up with something…

-M-

6. SharksFan52 - August 20, 2006

Go to baseball cube on the web and type in whatever player’s name you need information on. They will have most of them, even guys who never played affiliated ball.

7. BoosterBabe - August 20, 2006

Former Bridgeport Bluefish Gary Burnham now holds the record for most career home runs in a Reading Phillies uniform. He hit his 54th homer in a Phillies uniform last night vs. the New Britain Rock Cats at home in Reading. (Ironic, because he’s from South Windsor CT, not very far from New Britain).
Congrats to Gary.

8. Chuckerd58 - August 20, 2006

Just wanted to drop a line that i was able to make it out for the Somerset-Bears game on tuesday night. No problem at all getting tickets,in fact,they where right behind home plate. Just a great time,beautiful park that was easy to get in and out of. Definatly will get out there again next year.


Leave a Reply

