jump to navigation

July 22, 2006 July 22, 2006

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Van Hekken Signed: According to Ryan Dunleavy of The Courier News, the Kansas City Royals have signed Somerset Patriots P Andy Van Hekken and have assigned him to Triple-A Omaha.

Dave Elder just came back to Somerset from Omaha, and now the Patriots have sent one of their own back there. Funny how things work sometimes.

Similar to the Jared Sandberg signing, this one took many people by surprise. Van Hekken’s numbers (3-6, 5.56) were the worst out of the Somerset starters, but he’s also the only one of them with big league experience.

Omaha is pretty close to building a starting rotation completely out of Atlantic Leaguers, as Donovan Osborne and Brian Boehringer have also signed there this season.

Canseco In Trouble. Again. Really: In surprising news out of the GBL, Jose Canseco got into a domestic disturbance with a woman after winning the GBL’s Home Run Derby. Easily…EASILY the most comical thing out of all of this is the name of the police captain handling the case. I won’t spoil it, it’s great. Read it here.

Ramsey Feature: My Keith Ramsey feature is pretty much locked in, and I’ll release it sometime next week. It will run in the July 27th issue of the Democrat, and I’m actually really happy with how this one came out. I have a few ideas for the 8/3 issue, but we’ll see what happens there. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. Colin - July 22, 2006

Mike awhile ago you said you were looking for past years from atlantic league stuff to buy. I am going thru my stuff and have alot of past issues of yearbooks and programs. Im cleaning house and starting to sell off some of my collection, to much junk laying around the house. Give me a list and will see what we can work out and if anyone else is interested let me know. maybe you can start ALB ebay on this thing. I remember seeing a short list of what u have awhile ago on this board.

2. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - July 22, 2006

I’m probably really only interested in filling the holes in my AL card collection for now…probably for the same reason you’re getting rid of some of your stuff, the bigger stuff tends to clutter everything up after a while.

Let me know what you’ve got, if anything, and I’ll see what I need.

That goes to everyone, if you guys wanna trade stuff with each other, etc. that’s fine with me.

-M-

3. number1surffan John - July 22, 2006

I’d be interested in stuff with current Surf players…or even older Surf card sets…

As a side note – Mike/Scott – didn’t there used to be a “ALB Home” link to the right which had the all time AL rosters? A friend is trying to identify an autograph on a Surf baseball from 6 years ago (or longer) – looks like it may be “Joe” or “Jose” Saventy? Probably not the exact name…but I said I’d try to help solve the mystery.

4. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - July 23, 2006

Until the logo thing is completely taken care of, I think the link was taken down, although you’d have to ask Scott on that one.

This is still up, though. Hasn’t been updated in a bit, however…

http://www.atlanticleaguebaseball.com/alltime.htm

-M-

5. KenD - July 23, 2006

Anyone know why Pulsipher missed his start in Newark last night?

KenD

6. Anonymous - July 23, 2006

Pulsipher had a blister on his middle finger and is scheduled to make his next start in Bridgeport.

7. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - July 23, 2006

Yes, “anonymous” is correct about Pulsipher.

BTW: I updated the regular pages of Atlantic League baseball with the logos and some new graphics.

8. Anonymous - August 2, 2006

Hi. Anyone heard of this site? http://www.123rakeback.com Can you really make
$3000.00 per month in poker rakeback? I checked this site and it looks
good but does anyone have any more info? Waiting….William


Leave a Reply

