jump to navigation

July 19, 2006 July 19, 2006

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Ashmore Photo – Jason Shiell’s first professional appearance since 2003

Not Everybody Loves Raymond: Jason Shiell will be starting for the Atlanta Braves tonight, just weeks removed from wearing a Patriots uniform. Sadly, TBS will be showing Everybody Loves Raymond instead of televising the game. I’ll be keeping an eye on this one and watching Cubs-Astros (Maddux vs. Clemens) on WGN at the same time tonight.

New Article Posted: My new feature on Jim Burt, Jr. is now posted on MikeAshmore.com

I think the Thunder feature probably came out a little better this week, but make sure you check out the Burt feature so you can at least get your chance to win a set of 2006 Somerset Patriots cards. The Burt feature is still decent, I just wish I could have done more with it.

GREAT Idea, AC: The Atlantic City Surf have announced that they will be giving away Arturo Gatti bobbleheads to the first 1,000 adults as par of their fan appreciation weekend on September 22nd. A little known Ashmore fact is that I love boxing, and I actually saw Gatti fight on the undercard of Mosley-Forrest 1 at MSG in 2001.

You better believe I’ll be there to pick up my bobblehead. Get him to show up, and well…it may just be the greatest promotion in Atlantic League history.

Logogate: The team logos either have returned or will be returning shortly. The only thing not coming back is the league logo, which I really have no issue with whatsoever. Honestly, with the current layout of the blog, it’s not really that big of an issue. I am, however, miffed that I spent all that time looking for Greyhound logos for the Road Warriors.

IT’S A JOKE! SMILES EVERYONE, SMILES! – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. BoosterBabe - July 19, 2006

For b-fish fan:

It never ceases to amaze me how people judge others based on their appearance, and comment about the parking attendant making change when he himself (I assume it’s a man…but maybe I’m wrong about that, and since b-fish fan refuses to identify themself, there’s no way to know) cannot write a cogent sentence and appears to be allergic to punctuation and capitalization.

Me? A pom-pom waving fan? Definitely not. I am more in tune with the reality of running the business that is the Bluefish than most fans, and sometimes I wish I weren’t quite so aware of what goes on in the front office.
But being who I am, being as involved as I am, and this being the internet and not knowing who reads this, I am careful what I say in a public forum. You have no idea what I think, and more importantly, what I say to people I KNOW and who know me.

As far as me being identifiable, one of the readers of this very blog read about our trip to Camden last month, asked a few people wearing Bluefish shirts at that game where “BoosterBabe” was, and within minutes, she’d found me and we were talking like old friends before we knew it.

I think “b-fish fan” is just one of those people who is never happy with anything. You’re right, he would have been pissing and moaning if they hadn’t played the game “Whahhhhhhhhhh, they didn’t play the all-star game….wahhhhh it was just a little rain…wahhhhhh”

You keep focusing on the attendance figures and the fact they gave out vouchers for tickets. Why do you care? It’s really of no consequence to you whether attendance is up or down.

Giving away free tickets to people, especially new people, is smart business because the real money is made on concession sales and gear shop paraphernalia. Not to mention, show them a good time once for free, they might like it and come back a few more times.

If you thought the game shouldn’t have been played, then why did you bother to come down to the ballpark? You are just a blowhard who likes to read his thoughts on the internet. That’s my take on you, anyway. You have a miserable existence and if you had nothing to be unhappy about, you wouldn’t know what to do with yourself.

How do you like being told what kind of person you are based on a few words you’ve posted on the internet? Thing is, you were dead-wrong about me but I have a feeling I’m spot-on correct about you!
Have a nice day!

2. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - July 19, 2006

Trust me when I tell you I’m all for free speech, but — and this isn’t directed at anyone is more trying to nip something in the bud than anything else — try to keep the pissing contests to a minimum.

There’s nothing wrong with disagreements, but I don’t want this to get out of control, either.

-M-

3. BoosterBabe - July 19, 2006

I’m finished with this “b-fish fan” character, but I appreciate your comment and will keep my opinions in check. Just for the record, I did not start the name calling, I simply asked him what he meant by his accusatory comments. He still hasn’t really answered the question, but I’m sure he thinks he has.

Whatever. I’ve got way more important things to do right now than have a battle of wits with an unarmed person!

This is a terrific site and I love being on the “inside” with the news and info. I check it everyday.

4. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - July 19, 2006

Well, we don’t want people to not be able to voice their opinions, I just don’t want things to get nasty between the people commenting.

Everybody, myself included, is here for a reason: we follow the Atlantic League. I’d rather see the discussions go in that direction than towards anything that might be construed as personal.

-Ashmore-

5. Surf Voice - July 19, 2006

I think you guys are doing a great job and keep up the good work. This is the ONLY place to get any info on the AL…I would like to see more interviews especially with Boulton who owns the league and in my opinion too many teams. I feel this creates a conflict of interest in that I feel that teams should be independent of each other. The Road Warriors are basically a farm team for the Ducks and I think that’s wrong. Again, my opinion.

6. Amy - July 19, 2006

I agree with the fact that owning more than one team in the league is a conflict of interest. It bothers me to see that the few owners have such a big stake in everything that goes on in the league. I think it makes the league look bad in my opinion. I know that in another year or 2 the same people that own lancaster will also be owning York and southern Maryland. Not saying anything bad about that ownership group because I know they have been successful elsewhere, it just seems to make the league look like it is on shaky ground financially.

7. no biggie - July 20, 2006

Shiell is the reason guys in the Atlantic League don’t retire. A couple of good starts, a lucky break and he’s back in the majors. It’s an incredible story.

8. BoosterBabe - July 20, 2006

LOL oh not to worry, I will certainly voice my opinions! I’ll just make sure to keep them in check, that’s all! (meaning, will try not to go down the nasty road).

But I can’t promise what will happen if I’m provoked! LOL

Anyway, keep up the great work. I do think it’s a good idea for people to be required to use a name or an identity of some sort. I am friends with “Mel Wearing’s Ghost” and his family, and I’ve met “SharkGirl” (waving) but I can’t help but wonder who this “b-fish fan” is and if I’ve ever met him in all the years I’ve been going to the ballpark. I’ve asked him to identify himself (and trust me, anyone at Harbor Yard would point me out to ANYONE who asked! Even most of the players) but he hasn’t yet and seems highly doubtful he ever will.

Hiding behind a generic alias and posting inflammatory comments, especially when you know team and league management checks in now and then, is cowardly, at best.

All I’m saying is, if you’re going to express such strong opinions, be proud of your opinions and be proud of who you are and don’t hide behind the keyboard. That’s all.
Sheryl

9. BoosterBabe - July 20, 2006

Cat health update for those who care:
She went to the vet for “daycare” yesterday while I was at work because we lost power Monday night (blew a transformer in the neighborhood) and it wasn’t restored when I had to leave for work. So I dropped her at the vet’s office so at least she would be some place cool for the day, it was SO f’ing hot in this house yesterday!!!!!… they weighed her and she has not gained weight (rats, I was hoping) but she has been the same weight for over a month, so that’s a VERY good sign she’s holding her own. The vet also said she looks brighter and healthier than when he first examined her. So looks like she’s doing ok for now.

And the power came back around noon. I came home at lunchtime, turned on the a/c in the bedroom and we both moved into the bedroom for the night. (ate dinner on a tv tray in bed, oh boy!) Storm was scary and I almost got under the bed with her, but resisted the temptation! We got thru it.

So Mandy seems to be doing much better and we seem to managing the kidney disease, at least at present.

10. Scott Stanchak - July 20, 2006

Nice to hear. I know Ashmore and I wish her the best.

11. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - July 20, 2006

At the moment, my little guy is hogging the chair and the fan, so — to keep it baseball related — he’s turning a double play of his own.

But yeah, hope everything’s going well with your feline friend.

-Ashmore-

12. BoosterBabe - July 20, 2006

John-from-Long-Island:
You’re coming for the day game vs. LI or one of the night games? If it’s one of the night games, would love to say hello. (I start my new job Wed, so I think I won’t be able to go to the day game!)

If it’s a night game, stop by the Booster Club table behind section 10 and ask for me. They will know who where I am. Sheryl…aka “Booster Babe”

13. BoosterBabe - July 20, 2006

Laughing at the “double play” your cat is turning! They do seem to find a way to find the coolest spot in the summer and the warmest spots in winter, don’t they? (the warmest is usually with their furry butts pressed between you and the radiator, isn’t it?) Cannot imagine life without a cat! (Or Baseball! and when I’m watching a game my team is winning with my cat purring on my lap, I’m the happiest I will ever be!)

14. Anonymous - July 20, 2006

Cats, attendance in bridgeport, owners with multiple teams, “logo-gate”, etc…can’t we talk about baseball here? In the offseason everyone complains theres not enough baseball related news being posted or talked about. Well the league is in the middle of one of its best seasons and now all we talk about is off the field stuff. I’m a Ducks fan. this team is AWESOME! 11 wins in a ROW and 17 out of 18! Juan Gonzalez is playing (sorry conspiracy theorists, he’s in uniform AND signing autos every night – guess we can’t moan about that anymore), Bucky is leading the league in homers and rbi, Henry Rodriguez is starting to hit for power again and the pitching has been lights out…Pat Mahomes has 3 straight complete game wins and Pulsipher is back! How about some attention to the feats being accomplished on the field? Let’s enjoy the baseball everyone! That’s what it’s all about and why we all log onto this site…because we love the game of baseball…right?

15. SharkGirl - July 20, 2006

“Cats, attendance in bridgeport, owners with multiple teams, “logo-gate”, etc…can’t we talk about baseball here?” Actually, “Anonymous” with all due respect, except for “Cats” each of the other things you mentioned ARE about baseball. It’s not all good & glory like your precious Ducks-which we all know how your team gets put together. And with regard to the “Cats”, I’m not a cat person but at least BoosterBabe (waving back) puts her name up here & discusses “real” baseball issues as well. I, for one, hope her cat Mandy, stays well & healthy. Sorry, Mike & Scott, didn’t mean to make this sound like a “p…ing contest.” Denise

16. BoosterBabe - July 20, 2006

HI SHARK GIRL! 🙂

As far as the cat story goes…first line is always “Cat update for those who care”.
You don’t care, skip ahead.

As for the Ducks…they are the Yankees of the Atlantic League. Money talks.

It IS about baseball for me…it’s about Atlantic League baseball. Always will be. But people are people and people have lives outside of baseball. Whatever.
I am not gonna get into this with anyone who doesn’t have the guts to post their name.

Back to Baseball…my one regret about the All-Star Gala is that I didn’t spend more time talking to Bears’ knuckleballer Joe Gannon. He has the most charming and disarming smile I’ve come across in a very long time (and I mean that in the very nicest way possible, and I may even have told him that, too, come to think of it!!). We chatted several times that night, but our conversations were superficial, at best. After the all-star game I googled him because I was curious what his history was and I found out he has a great story. Would have been a very interesting conversation and I regret not having it. (too many rum punches…wouldn’t have been able to hold up my end of the conversation that night anyway!)

Joe, if you’re reading this….I’ll buy ya a beer at Murphy’s next time you’re in town (some time in early August)!


Leave a Reply

