jump to navigation

June 28, 2006 June 28, 2006

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Pulsipher Problems: Former Long Island Ducks pitcher Bill Pulsipher, who made a comeback last year with the St. Louis Cardinals, was reportedly released from his contract with the President Lions of the CPBL due to a “possible drug problem.”

This info came across my email box from a source. Here is also a link to a web site stating what I wrote above. I don’t know if this is true, and have sent an email to the club for my assurance; however, have yet to hear back. – Scott Stanchak.

Patriots Lose: If this was the series that was going to make or break the Patriots, then this might be the game that put the nail in their first half coffin. Bluefish P Luther Hackman carried a no-hitter into the sixth inning, and Bridgeport ended up winning, 7-2. Hackman had some smoke, striking out six batters while allowing just two hits in 5.1 innings of work. Henri Stanley broke up the no-hitter with a triple.

Both Tony Mounce and Robert Averette made their debut, with Mounce recovering from a very shaky warmup session in the bullpen to pitch a scoreless 7th. Averette came in for the ninth and allowed two runs and three hits in the inning.

Patriots Moves: Hearing that Somerset has a few fairly big moves planned in the next two weeks. So, ummm…yeah, stay tuned for those and all.

The team has, apparently, signed P Robert Averette. Averette pitched with Nashua in the AL last season and was with Brockton in the Can-Am League this year as well – just getting released today.

Ten Questions: Does anyone actually read these? I mean, as fun as transcribing about 20 minutes of audio is, it’s kind of getting to the point where I don’t necessarily have the time to keep doing these – not to mention the stuff I have to go through to even get certain people, which…yes, I know it’s the Atlantic League.

I’ll still get the guys who interest me (hopefully Juan Gonzalez, Kevin Tolar, etc.) but I think the days of me going after everyone are pretty much over. I’d consider taking requests, so if you have someone you want me to grab, feel free to leave a comment or send an e-mail, etc.

As for suggestions for features, I’ll take those as well, but I’ve got a bunch of stuff planned there, so I’m not real sure I’d be able to do too much there. Jim Burt, Keith Ramsey and George Sandel are the players I’ve been thinking about doing features on lately – but I think Scott’s doing the feature this week and I’ll be doing some form of a mid-season report card, so you guys should check out who he writes about. I was actually real close to doing a piece on Ryan McDermond, but…yeah, not so much.

Feature Posted: This week, I did a feature on recently departed pitcher Jason Shiell. Click here to check it out. Shiell made his debut for Richmond in Louisville last night, picking up the L in a 3-0 loss. He went six innings, allowing eight hits. All three runs were earned, and he walked one while striking out six.

Get Well Gammons: I’m looking forward to hearing about how cheesy this is later today, but just wanted to pass along my get well wishes to ESPN’s Peter Gammons. He’s definitely someone I look up to, and I think the same can be said of a lot of other baseball writers as well. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. number1surffan John - June 28, 2006

Yes Mike, there are those of us who read the 10 questions. I even accidentally found a link to individual player stats and info somewhere on the site through a link from wikipedia or google – is there a direct way to that. I also can’t seem to recall how to get bak into the plus section, the page just sends me to sign up (again). Thanks, John

2. Jay - June 28, 2006

yea I would be interested in seeing a piece on Jim Burt jr

3. Anonymous - June 28, 2006

I agree jay. me too

4. DJ - June 28, 2006

M- What do you means the patriots “big moves”? As in releasing a lot of guys or what?

5. Ashmore - June 28, 2006

Regarding the Plus stuff, contact Scott for the password info – I don’t handle that side of things.

As for Somerset, it looks like they’ll be bringing in a few guys…whether players have to be released as a result, who knows.

-M-

6. Jennifer - June 28, 2006

hey Mike,

are they bringing in postition players or pitchers?

7. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - June 28, 2006

The fairly big name I heard was a pitcher, big league guy. Has played in the AL before, but not for Somerset. Right now, they’re at 24 players (22 active) so I wouldn’t rule out a new position player either.

-M-

8. BrickCityBruins.com - June 28, 2006

Good luck with Juan Gonzalez. I hope you have better luck interviewing him than CN8 had last night in Newark. He doesn’t seem to be too friendly. We managed to get autographs after that game, though. But smiley he is NOT.

9. Anonymous - June 28, 2006

Brick City-sorry you had that experience with Juan. I have to say when he played in Camden he was VERY friendly to everyone! Stopping for pictures before the game to all that asked (including myself)& was signing autographs like there was no tomorrow. He was all smiles that night-giving balls to kids & even gave his hat away after the game. I was impressed. I guess everyone is entitled to an “off” night!
Signed, SharkGirl (Sorry-couldn’t log in)

10. Anonymous - June 28, 2006

Juan did not play for several games in a row last week on Long Island and he did not come out to sign any autographs before the game. The only day that he signed was on Sunday(two weeks ago) during their weekly autograph session and he only signed one item per person. He seems to sign more for people on the road than he does at home. He quit often refuses to sign if you happen to catch him in the parking lot either before or after the game.

11. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - June 29, 2006

I at least intend on asking him some fairly tough questions, so we’ll see how well that goes…

-M-

12. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - June 29, 2006

Am also thinking about doing a Saul Solveson piece, too. Nice guy, probably hasn’t been the subject of a lot of features. I try to avoid doing stuff that’s already been done – hence no Nettles features, etc.

-M-

13. Anonymous - June 29, 2006

Todd Erdos is leaving the Ducks for Taiwan

14. Anonymous - June 29, 2006

I hope one of your questions to Juan is why he doesn’t come out to sign autographs for kids when he is not scheduled to play.

15. Anonymous - June 29, 2006

I suppose that you never heard of anyone approaching a player either before or after a game for an autograph. Go stand outside Yankee or Shea stadium when the players either arrive or depart and see how many fans are out there. Next time think before you accuse someone of being a stalker or psychotic.

16. Anonymous - June 30, 2006

I’d like to see a piece on Saul Solveson and some of the others who aren’t getting much publicity.

you do a great job.


Leave a Reply

