jump to navigation

June 21, 2006 June 22, 2006

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

News and Notes: Pretty light news day here in the Atlantic League, the best thing I got for ya is that the Patriots have activated P Andy Pratt.

Also, I spoke to Trenton Thunder manager Bill Masse about whether he was hesitant to use a guy like Scott Patterson, who’s never pitched a day of affiliated ball in his life. I’ll have that quote for you either tonight or tomorrow. And, for those of you wondering, Patterson was sans facial hair (fine) – following the Yankees dress code.

To borrow from Stanchak’s old thing that only he would care about, I’m in Trenton, and their pitcher Jeff Karstens carried a no-hitter into the sixth inning before it ultimately got broken up. Pick which four letter word I said about five times when that happened, and you win nothing.

Patterson Stuff: Here’s what Trenton Thunder manager Bill Masse had to say when I asked him if he was hesitant to use Patterson.

“I’m not hesitant to use him,” Masse said. “I’m more intrigued by what I’m going to see. From what I’ve seen so far, he throws strikes. He throws strikes, and he’s not afraid to throw strikes, which is a good sign. I definitely didn’t want to sign a guy whose location was questionable. But his location has been good and he’s thrown strikes, so that’s definitely encouraging.” – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. Chris - June 22, 2006

thought the Pats were getting a position player in today?

2. milton Hershey - June 22, 2006

I really don’t understand your comment, “….for those of you wondering, Patterson was sans goatee—-following Yankee dress code.”, when he hasn’t had a goatee the entire season.

3. Amy - June 22, 2006

Thank you for stating what I was going to say…I don’t remember a goatee all season!

4. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - June 22, 2006

I can’t believe I’m going to debate a guy’s facial hair on here, but he had some growth…he has nothing at all. Maybe it wasn’t a full-blown goatee or anything, it clearly wasn’t of Jim “The Anvil” Neidhart proportions, but there was some growth.

-M-

5. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - June 22, 2006

As for the Pats position player, I wasn’t at the game today, so I couldn’t tell you what’s going on there. I’ll be there tomorrow with all the news, if there is any…

-M-

6. Anonymous - June 22, 2006

i cant believe the league is going to allow the ac surf to gouge fans.how can the surf force fans who walk up on 7/3 and 7/4 pay 10.00 a ticket for any ticket they buy.just because there are fireworks what a disgrace.

7. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - June 22, 2006

It’s actually not an entirely terrible idea. Fans who really want to go will show up at the box office to avoid the fee, and will likely either attend another game or purchase tickets to another game. And, for fans who show up and have no idea that the tickets were jacked up…well, they have no idea they were jacked up and they’re still seeing exactly what they would have seen for a few bucks less had they bought their seats in advance.

That’s the business side.

From the fan side, that sucks. If you’re going to have variable prices, a la what the Mets do, make it a consistent thing.

This could very well backfire, with fans being turned off by the ticket increase, and they’ll end up with less fans than they could have had for what was already going to be a big turnout.

-M-

8. number1surffan John - June 22, 2006

Being a season ticket holder myself, it’s no big deal, however keep in mind that the “great” seats have ALWAYS been $10 (lower box seats, and the party deck). The upper box seats have been $8. If the team “surcharging” a paltry $2 to offset the additional staff they need to bring in causes you to stay home – then stay home.

I noticed no one credited them for the “pay what you weigh” promotion. Gee – you might think all the $1.50 to $1.75 tickets for $8 seats would have made up for the $10 “only if bought on game day” for $8 seats on the 3rd and 4th fireworks. BTW – they are offering the ONLY Atlantic City fireworks for this holiday.

Are you a regular fan anonymous? If so, PLEASE track me down (I’m the guy with the cowbell between the dugout and on deck circle), and I’ll give you the extra $2. Heck, I probably have another 1/2 dozen or so game ticket vouchers from myself and my kids doing on field promotions – I’ll gladly pass them on to you AND toss in a 1 day parking pass. I’d sincerely hate to see someone outraged and unable to make it due to $2.


Leave a Reply

