jump to navigation

June 16, 2006 June 16, 2006

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

MIKKELSEN THROWS NO-HITTER: Lincoln Mikkelsen threw the third no-hitter in Atlantic League history tonight, walking four and striking out five. I have quotes and pics and videos and all sorts of stuff from tonight…cannot believe this happened the one time I came to Lancaster. I already had one fan tell me never to come back haha.

Live Updates: The Barnstormers, clad in pink jerseys might I add, are trailing Atlantic City, 1-0, through eight innings of play here in Lancaster. Cam Smith and Lincoln Mikkelsen are your pitchers for the evening.

Mikkelsen is Joe Gannon-esque through six innings, that’s the storyline so far here at Clipper Magazine Stadium. Also, Smith has established a season high for Lancaster pitchers with eight strikeouts through his first five innings.

Smith is now out of the game.

Mikkelsen’s 7th:

Reggie Taylor struck out swinging.
Jose Ortiz grounded to second, with the throw barely beating him.
Chris Van Rossum grounded weakly to Mikkelsen, with Linc making a great play to get him.

It’s on through 7.

Mikkelsen’s 8th:

Eric Crozier walked
Lance Burkhart grounded into a fielder’s choice to second which got the runner out. Burkhart reached. One out.
Jutt Hileman replaces Burkhart on the basepaths.
Manny Santana grounded into a double play to the pitcher.

THROUGH 8

Mikkelsen’s 9th:

Kris Dufner…STRIKEOUT SWINGING
Quincy Foster…grounds to second…ONE AWAY
Travis Hake…grounds out

NO HITTER

Cam Smith…in pink!

Barnstorming in Lancaster: I’ll be updating throughout the night with game updates (hopefully) and pictures and maybe some QuickTime videos. Here’s the shot I grabbed of the stadium at around 12:30 this afternoon.

Home Run Pavilion in right field

Through the tents in right

ALB Exclusive: Lancaster closer Scott Patterson has been picked up by the Yankees. He’ll be headed to Double-A Trenton. I was able to talk to him about it, I’ll have some quotes later tonight, maybe some audio.

Patterson Audio: After he got done checking his e-mail on my laptop to get directions to Binghamton, where Trenton is currently at for a three game series, he took the time to answer a few of my questions. Click here for a clip.

VIDEO POSTED: Here’s a first for our site, three videos of my trip to Lancaster – don’t take them too seriously, I know I didn’t. You will need the latest version of Quicktime to view these .MOV files

Video 1
Video 2
Video 3

Lorraine Leaves: Ducks P Andrew Lorraine has been signed by the Chicago White Sox. He will be assigned to Triple-A Charlotte.

Estrella To Surf: P Leo Estrella, who’s pitched for the Blue Jays, Brewers and Giants, has signed with the Surf and is on the roster for today’s game.

Crozier Arrives: I talked to former Blue Jays OF Eric Crozier, who arrived in Lancaster yesterday. He said he got into a car accident in Atlanta after being released by the Reds and was just able to make it up here today. Nice guy, hope he does well.

Yes, That Was Me On Your Radio Airwaves: Thanks to Surf broadcaster John Leon for inviting me on the air for a five minute pregame radio spot before today’s game. I always get a little nervous on the radio — I even did when we had our own show — but this went fairly well.

Affiliation Update Posted: This is always a good hour or so of work, but it’s finally up. The next order of business is to take care of that backlog of Ten Questions features I owe you guys. Anyway, here’s the affiliation update – just click here.

Benches Empty. Again: According to a few people at the game, both dugouts and bullpens emptied tonight in Newark after Patriots catcher Fernando Lunar was hit by a pitch in the seventh by Bears pitcher Nick Maness. No punches were thrown. This happened after Lunar and Maness exchanged words after Lunar reached first. No players were ejected, but this series is going to be one to watch. The Bears and Patriots have had issues before, with Tommy Parks and Jeff Nettles getting into it in 2004. Parks, the former Jets punter, was released shortly thereafter.

Indy Team To Have Fans Manage: According to this ESPN.com article, the Northern League’s Schaumburg Flyers will allow fans to make the managerial decisions for the team in the second half.

“This is a joke,” said Mike Ashmore when informed of the news.

“I almost didn’t believe we could do this with a real baseball team,” said Joe Michaels, MSN’s director of business development. But, you know, then they found one desperate enough for the promotion and they did.

Lancaster Trip: I’m in Lancaster, sitting in a crappy Days Inn with an air conditioning unit that purrs louder than ten lions in heat. In somewhat of an upset, they have wireless internet access at my hotel, so I’m able to check my e-mail and whatnot before the game. I stopped by the stadium to pick up my press pass, and they’ve got some ballpark there from what I could see. I’ll have pictures and updates and whatnot coming soon.

Clipper Magazine Stadium: I like the fact that it’s a unique stadium, at least to the Atlantic League. Gorgeous ballpark…only one problem, surely I could have avoided staring into the sun for 3 hours. Man, that’s crazy. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

1. KenD - June 16, 2006

Nice job on the update. That has got to be a lot of work.

2. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - June 16, 2006

Thanks man, it takes a bit of time, yeah…

-M-

3. Jeff - June 16, 2006

Ten Lions in heat. That is quite a compliment for Days Inn. Good luck sleeping.

4. Amy - June 16, 2006

Mike which Days Inn are you at? The one on Keller Ave? yeah that one is not too great…haha. The visiting teams stayed there last year but switched this year to another motel. Email me and let me know!

5. Anonymous - June 16, 2006

Enjoy the game. Will be great to read your commentary and can’t wait to see the pictures!

6. Amy - June 16, 2006

Mike…I am sure you will enjoy the Clipper magazine Stadium…it’s a good time. should be a nice crowd there tonight..what with us playing AC and all!!!

7. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - June 16, 2006

It’s like a mile away from the stadium. I walked to the nearby Boston Market. I ate chicken. It was delicious.

-M-

8. Amy - June 16, 2006

Yep that’s the one. that used to be a very nice motel….now it’s kinda seedy. I will say that Boston Market is awesome…we eat there frequently!

9. AtlanticLeagueBaseball.com - June 16, 2006

Oh yes, this place is far from awesome. I shot a video from outside of my hotel so y’all can check it out later…probably will upload them sometime tonight.

-M-

10. Jeff - June 16, 2006

See where Andrew Lorraine of the Ducks had his contract purchased by the Chicago White Sox this afternoon.

11. number1surffan John - June 16, 2006

Mike – give a shout out to “my” guys if you can, they can’t be in great spirits having dropped all 3 to BB and letting thos Patriots catch up to them….enjoy, I understand it is beautiful there

12. Anonymous - June 18, 2006

To add fuel to the Patriots/Bears drama, Lipso Nava was hit twice earlier in the series by Patriots pitcher Jason Olson. It’s the fifth time he’s been hit this season by the Patriots, three by Olson. I don’t think Lunar getting hit was intentional. It was Maness’ first pitch and he didn’t have a lot of control in that outing.

Nothing happened in the 5-game series finale, but I don’t think we’ve heard the last of this.


Leave a Reply

