jump to navigation

April 6, 2006

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

First Article Runs in the Democrat: My first Somerset Patriots article ran in the Hunterdon County Democrat. I encourage everyone to go out to your local store and buy ten copies. Getting this job was a really huge deal for me, and I just wanted to thank Scott, my family and John Siipola and everyone else over at the paper for giving me this opportunity. This is something that I’ve wanted for a long time now, and I’ll be damned if I don’t make the absolute most of it.

I will always, always, always value your feedback, and I look forward to hearing from you guys. Please feel free to contact me at mashmore@patriotsbaseball.com or through mikeashmore.com or however you want to do it.

Not to toot my own horn or anything…but beep-beep.

Player To Be Named Never: That’s all the Riversharks had to give the Kansas City T-Bones of the Northern League for P Jon McDonald. McDonald is an FSU alum. Can hit the high 80’s; throws a fastball, curve and changeup. Was teammates with (possibly former) Patriot P Nick Stocks.

Meanwhile, Quebec of the Can-Am League was actually honest and listed their transaction as just selling the contracts of 1B Todd Leathers and P Marcos Castillo to the Atlantic City Surf.

Leathers went to Winthrop and also has experience in the Frontier League.

Castillo is a 27 year-old Venezuelan born right-handed starter who spent six seasons in the Dodgers organization, appearing in just two Double-A games with the team. He pitched in the Central League in 2004 and the Can-Am League in 2005.

My Take on The AL Plan: Yeah, I don’t really like it. If it were possibly a league-wide thing, I might be behind it, but I don’t necessarily like how only four teams opted into it. I think if you look at the signings that some of the teams that aren’t in the program have made so far compared to some of the teams that are in it, you might think that the teams in the program are a little behind. Specifically with Somerset, they’re really only bringing in a lot of familiar faces and are only now starting to acquire fresh talent like Larry Barnes.

Whereas, you look at the Bears and the Ducks, and they’re bringing in guys like Erick Almonte, Doug DeVore and Bucky Jacobsen. I don’t doubt for a second that this new company is going to pay long-term dividends for the league, because both Adam and Ellie are very good at what they do. But right now? I’m not sold on it, not at all. – Mike Ashmore

Patriots Sign Two: The Somerset Patriots signed outfielder Mike Lockwood and right-handed pitcher Jason Olson. Lockwood played for both the Oakland Athletics and Boston Red Sox organizations, while Olson with the Anaheim Angels and Los Angeles Dodgers. Both have reached the Triple-A level. – Scott Stanchak.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

