jump to navigation

March 23, 2006

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Three New Interviews Posted: As promised, I’ve posted some more of the interviews that I did last season. All three of these guys are Long Island Ducks, so as expected, all three of these guys are big leaguers as well.

To read complete interviews with Paxton Crawford, Carl Sadler and Lance Davis, just click on the appropriate player’s name.

Crawford’s was easily the most disappointing, as he was in his street clothes on the way to the hotel and I only had a few minutes with a guy who could have interviewed for an hour. He ended up retiring a few days later.

Sadler’s was pretty much what I was expecting it to be, it was pretty average as far as my interviews go. I was just glad to talk to him, as he was released the day before I had my interview planned with him when he was with Somerset.

I think I got the best stuff from Lance Davis, but I can’t say I’d really consider it to be my best work either. I liked how candid he was about his situation in Spring Training with the Mets last season, but I could have done better with my questions.

Speaking of Mets Spring Training: Rickey Henderson made his first appearance as an instructor for the Mets the other day. The Star-Ledger described Henderson as “animated” while working with speedster Jose Reyes and others.

Henderson named his all-time teammate team as well, being sure to include Graig Nettles as his third baseman. Nettles is the father of 2003 Atlantic League Championship Series MVP Jeff Nettles.

Henderson told the paper that Don Mattingly was the best player he ever played with. Looking back on my 2004 interview with the future Hall of Famer, he told me: “Most talented player I’ve ever played with, I probably would say Dave Winfield, Don Mattingly, them type of guys was my favorite type of player.”

Probably the most newsworthy quote out of the little blob was this quote from Rickey.

“They won’t even let me pick up a bat.”

You see, the 47-year old Henderson still hasn’t ruled out playing in the big leagues, despite announcing his retirement this off-season. – Mike Ashmore.

Speaking Of Nettles: The Somerset Patriots re-signed Jeff Nettles for the 2006 season. I’m shocked that he hasn’t been given a chance anywhere.

The Full Almonte: The Long Island Ducks signed shortstop Erick Almonte to a deal today. Almonte is most recognized, or may be, for replacing Derek Jeter for a few months several years ago after he was injured.

Shark Re-Signings: The Camden Riversharks agreed to deals with OF L.J. Bierbaum and 1B Ryan Jones.

Surf Go Bear Hunting: The Atlantic City Surf sent All-Star first baseman Dario Delgado to the Newark Bears today in exchange for pitcher Domingo Acosta. The Bears also signed pitcher Carlos Mirabal. – Scott Stanchak.

Ashmore’s Takes: I obviously love the Almonte signing by the Ducks. He’s the first big leaguer that’s new to the league this year, so a signing like that definitely gets you excited about what teams will be able to do closer to the end of big league camps.

Dario Delgado hit .321 with 22 HR and 96 RBI last season. Do I even need to go on and tell you who I think got the better end of that deal? – M.A.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

