jump to navigation

June 27, 2005

Posted by atlanticleaguenews in Uncategorized.
trackback

Off His Rocker: The Long Island Ducks released pitcher John Rocker today after the team acknowledged that it was his decision. My take: it wasn’t his decision.

Rocker told the New York Post today that he was starting to throw better after sitting out over a year. He also said that he was going to skip the July 15 deadline he gave himself and stick it out the rest of the season.

Some less notable altercations with fans, as well as the documented ones, most likely forced the lefty out of a Ducks uniform and you can all but figure that he isn’t landing on any other A.L. roster. One high-up told me that he would not ever have had Rocker on their team’s roster.

According to a source, the Ducks were officially releasing Rocker’s #49 jersey for sale. That, however, is probably not going to happen anymore.

Rocker was 0-2 with a 6.50 ERA, allowed 18 hits and 28 walks while striking out 19 batters in 18 innings.

An Offer He Can’t Refuse: The New York Mets recalled Jose Offerman from Triple-A Norfolk today. Offerman played for the Bridgeport Bluefish several years ago, as well as began this season with the Philadelphia Phillies.

Interest Piece: Be sure to check this Thursday on Patriotsbaseball.com as I wrote a piece about what the players think are good and bad about the league. I took a poll of several current Patriots players and it was interesting to see what they had to say. – Scott Stanchak.

Ashmore’s Take on Rocker: Maybe it won’t be such a huge hassle to interview Ducks players anymore. I’ll cut the friggin lock on their clubhouse if they let me, that was a sad situation…

Here’s a statement from Rocker: After pitching for two months with the Long Island Ducks, the consistency required to pitch at the Major League level, and the consistency I demand from myself, are not where they should be. As a result, I have elected to take a step back and reevaluate the options available to me. I would like to thank the Long Island Ducks organization for the opportunity they’ve given me to help me reestablish myself as a Major League pitcher. I would also like to offer a heartfelt thanks to the Long Island fans for being so supportive and accepting. The warm welcome I received here on Long Island went beyond all my expectations. I also appreciate my long-time fans who have supported me through my website, and with their prayers and kind words.”

But all will be fine. They’ll replace Rocker with some new pitcher with big league time and Doug Jennings will likely be pulled from the cobwebs for one last run. – Mike Ashmore

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

